PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Spokane Valley Police Department

Spokane Valley Police Department

City agency in Spokane, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2016.

ORI
WA0321500
Type
City
County
Spokane
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2016-08-01
Location
47.6204, -117.4034

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 109,455.

122Sworn officers
28Civilian staff
1.37Employees per 1,000 people
109,455Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202512228109,4551.37
202410730109,8521.25
202310826109,2781.23
202210426108,0761.20
20219720104,2761.12
202010624102,3661.27
201910923100,9831.31
20181033099,0201.34
2017973097,4301.30
2016101195,9231.06
2015102192,1571.12
201497191,3821.07

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Spokane Valley Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 121329773.5%
20251225517267.5%
20241226917464.7%
20231234121262.2%
20221236721157.5%
20211231517455.2%
20201234921762.2%
20191231617856.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 121,47222115.0%
2025123,65340711.1%
2024123,90148512.4%
2023123,81450213.2%
2022124,43350211.3%
2021124,09642310.3%
2020124,42265314.8%
2019124,48460413.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0321500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Spokane Valley Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 121,168
2025122,171
2024122,229
2023122,502
2022122,253
2021121,879
2020122,563
2019122,543

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0321500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

8 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Spokane Valley Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20258
20249
20239
20227
20212
20203
20197
20183
201714
201610
20155
20144
20132
20124
20117
20091
20082
20071
20068
20057
20046
20036
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2003–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American46
Anti-White18
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)10
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Transgender8
Anti-Other Religion6
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Sikh2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Male1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Protestant1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0321500.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Spokane Valley Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2004 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm9
Knife or other cutting instrument13
Hands, fists or feet387
Other weapon78
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
200411187
200520125
200601163
200701185
200800111
200910121
20100070
20110193
201200132
20130070
201400103
20150081
20160081
201722228
201802181
2019025012
202011285
202100176
202202294
202310256
202400201
202510293

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Spokane Valley Police Department” and answers:

Contracts with Spokane Police Department

This is the AGO’s wording, not a yes or a no: the register names another agency, Spokane Police Department, in place of an answer for this one.

The AGO’s register shows no date for this entry, so Police Census cannot say when, or whether, it was last checked.

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Spokane

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0321500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.