PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Spokane County Sheriff's Office

Spokane County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Spokane, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2016.

ORI
WA0320000
Type
County
County
Spokane
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2016-11-01
Location
47.6652, -117.4281

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 179,646.

135Sworn officers
31Civilian staff
0.92Employees per 1,000 people
179,646Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202513531179,6460.92
202412731186,7000.85
202311827177,5110.82
202212727179,1550.86
202111320167,5120.79
202011824166,9630.85
201912526163,7550.92
201812230163,8960.93
201711531160,2460.91
201611963157,4621.16
201511859157,1881.13
201412362154,6511.20

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Spokane County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 12977476.3%
20251219514071.8%
20241223515264.7%
20231222212958.1%
20221222213259.5%
20211219912663.3%
20201221512156.3%
20191220810550.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 12894889.8%
2025121,9551527.8%
2024122,3211908.2%
2023122,6821836.8%
2022122,6991385.1%
2021123,1811564.9%
2020122,8411766.2%
2019122,7011626.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0320000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Spokane County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 12814
2025121,547
2024121,576
2023121,495
2022121,255
2021121,457
2020121,864
2019122,011

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0320000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Spokane County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
20245
20237
20222
20213
20202
20195
20185
201712
20161
20153
20142
20136
20112
20101
20093
20081
20062
20051
20042
20034
20026
20004
19995
19981
19973
19955
19943
19933
19926
19913
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American37
Anti-White19
Anti-Hispanic or Latino7
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry6
Anti-Other Christian5
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Asian3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0320000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

31 people have died during an encounter with Spokane County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

31Deaths recorded
17.26Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot24
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Gunshot, Taser1
Medical emergency1
Taser1
Asphyxiated1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (18) and Fatal Encounters (13). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.4mOriginal acquisition value
22Line items received
2004–2019Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle2$1.3m2019-08-08
Helicopter,Observation1$92,2902004-05-28
Image Intensifier,Night Vision4$26,7922016-04-29
Up Armored Ntvs1$15,0002011-07-21
Gearbox Assy,T R 901$10,3732015-08-04
Starter-Generator,Engine,Aircraft1$6,8622018-02-10
Indicator,Electrical Tachometer3$2,9672018-04-06
Sight,Reflex149$2,3732016-06-23
Sight Unit2$2,3702016-04-14
Sight,Holographic2$6082016-07-07
Mount,Viewer6$1592017-09-20

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Spokane County Sheriff's Office” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2026-05-26. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Spokane

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0320000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.