PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Snohomish County Sheriff's Office

Snohomish County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Snohomish, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2015.

ORI
WA0310000
Type
County
County
Snohomish
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2015-11-01
Location
48.0549, -121.7664

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 377,021.

274Sworn officers
69Civilian staff
0.91Employees per 1,000 people
377,021Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202527469377,0210.91
202428772380,0500.94
202329372365,1661.00
202229467371,1850.97
202128669366,2200.97
202028867367,0290.97
201929773363,7441.02
201829070362,4740.99
201727467353,5700.96
201627368345,1250.99
201528072341,4431.03
201427772331,9631.05

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Snohomish County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1222619485.8%
20251239228171.7%
20241245030968.7%
20231248634470.8%
20221249733667.6%
20211249631363.1%
20201252533964.6%
20191255838569.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121,13616214.3%
2025122,3632068.7%
2024123,2932577.8%
2023123,6982597.0%
2022123,9713208.1%
2021124,2233859.1%
2020124,41657913.1%
2019124,37956612.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0310000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Snohomish County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 122,240
2025123,397
2024123,601
2023123,801
2022123,570
2021123,697
2020124,325
2019124,663

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0310000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Snohomish County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20242
20235
20224
202111
20205
20195
20187
20179
20166
20153
20142
20132
20121
20095
20081
20073
20054
20041
20034
20028
20015
20006
19993
19983
19972
19941
19922
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American35
Anti-Gay (Male)9
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native8
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry8
Anti-White7
Anti-Jewish6
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Sikh6
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Other Christian2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Hindu1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
Anti-Other Religion1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0310000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

28 people have died during an encounter with Snohomish County Sheriff's Office between 2003 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

28Deaths recorded
7.43Per 100,000 people policed
2003–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot21
Vehicle4
Tasered2
Asphyxiated/Restrained1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (18) and Mapping Police Violence (10). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.1mOriginal acquisition value
8Line items received
2008–2017Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Helicopter,Utility1$922,7042008-02-28
Helicopter,Observation1$159,3982008-02-26
Image Intensifier,Night Vision4$27,2002013-04-15
Illuminator,Infrared6$1,6622017-11-14
Sight,Reflex3$1,5592013-04-30

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Snohomish County Sheriff's Office” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2022-03-17. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Snohomish

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0310000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.