PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Mill Creek Police Department

Mill Creek Police Department

City agency in Snohomish, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2008.

ORI
WA0312100
Type
City
County
Snohomish
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2008-03-01
Location
47.8591, -122.2203

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 21,013.

23Sworn officers
6Civilian staff
1.38Employees per 1,000 people
21,013Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202523621,0131.38
202421620,6871.31
202318420,7911.06
202223520,9251.34
202120321,0761.09
202021521,2141.23
201924521,3601.36
201824421,2341.32
201725620,6641.50
201622520,4191.32
201521519,4411.34
201425518,9701.58

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Mill Creek Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202510 of 12251768.0%
2024122729107.4%
202312452044.4%
202212381950.0%
20211227933.3%
202012372156.8%
201912191473.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202510 of 1226213049.6%
20241239511128.1%
2023124277116.6%
2022125359016.8%
202112439439.8%
2020123364814.3%
2019122914114.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0312100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Mill Creek Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202510 of 12427
202412378
202312318
202212246
202112188
202012224
201912242

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0312100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Mill Creek Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20241
20232
20221
20212
20201
20181
20172
20161
20131
20121
20091
20082
20071
20031
19981
19941
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Asian3
Anti-White3
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Female1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0312100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Mill Creek Police Department between 2008 and 2017, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
9.52Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2017Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Mill Creek Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2000 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet16
Other weapon4
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20000101
20020010
20030030
20040010
20060120
20070021
20100010
20120031
20140001
20190010
20220010
20240010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$478Original acquisition value
2Line items received
2015–2016Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Sight,Reflex6$3392016-12-27
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms30$1392015-04-09

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Mill Creek Police Department” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2022-11-22. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Snohomish

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0312100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.