PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Mountlake Terrace Police Department

Mountlake Terrace Police Department

City agency in Snohomish, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2011.

ORI
WA0310600
Type
City
County
Snohomish
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2011-01-01
Location
47.7885, -122.3127

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 26,286.

28Sworn officers
7Civilian staff
1.33Employees per 1,000 people
26,286Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202528726,2861.33
202428721,5951.62
202325921,6751.57
202227821,5891.62
202129821,4621.72
202027821,5041.63
201928821,6171.67
201827821,5491.62
201727721,4021.59
201626721,2121.56
201526721,0511.57
201428820,8711.72

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Mountlake Terrace Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12141392.9%
202512423276.2%
202412443681.8%
202312322062.5%
202212342367.6%
202112332369.7%
202012382052.6%
201912382360.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121362619.1%
2025124026014.9%
202412478347.1%
202312664538.0%
202212620558.9%
202112636528.2%
202012526478.9%
201912471469.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0310600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Mountlake Terrace Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12253
202512618
202412589
202312534
202212468
202112461
202012332
201912404

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0310600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Mountlake Terrace Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20232
20222
20212
20181
20161
20151
20141
20111
20092
20061
20031
19951
19942
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American9
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Physical Disability1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0310600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Mountlake Terrace Police Department between 2008 and 2008, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
3.80Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2008Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Mountlake Terrace Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet43
Other weapon10
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950030
19960021
20060010
20120020
20130010
20140020
20160062
20170074
20180020
20190062
20200010
20210020
20220020
20230010
20240021
20250030

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Mountlake Terrace Police Department” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2022-11-10. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Snohomish

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0310600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.