PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / North Richland Hills Police Department

North Richland Hills Police Department

City agency in Tarrant, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2018.

ORI
TX2202100
Type
City
County
Tarrant
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2018-01-01
Location
32.772, -97.2913

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 71,725.

117Sworn officers
79Civilian staff
2.73Employees per 1,000 people
71,725Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251177971,7252.73
20241177170,7802.66
20231087870,8532.63
20221218870,1082.98
20211129472,8812.83
20201137471,5202.61
20191137671,8162.63
20181127771,4982.64
20171107470,9102.59
20161107670,4092.64
20151087469,8492.61
20141087368,3092.65

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by North Richland Hills Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12703854.3%
2025121085046.3%
2024121596440.3%
2023121425236.6%
2022121595735.8%
2021121555233.5%
2020121425538.7%
2019121435739.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1262515324.5%
2025121,27027421.6%
2024121,57532320.5%
2023121,60425015.6%
2022121,39425918.6%
2021121,56432420.7%
2020121,29719515.0%
2019121,27517413.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX2202100.

Arrests

Arrests made by North Richland Hills Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,117
2025121,442
2024121,562
2023121,334
2022121,559
2021121,901
2020121,790
2019122,537

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX2202100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for North Richland Hills Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20245
20231
20211
20194
20183
20121
20116
20103
20094
20083
20071
20051
20032
20024
20011
19994
19981
19974
19961
19931
19921
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American20
Anti-Hispanic or Latino8
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-White3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX2202100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with North Richland Hills Police Department between 2013 and 2013, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
1.39Per 100,000 people policed
2013–2013Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of North Richland Hills Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm6
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet107
Other weapon8
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950032
19960020
19970010
19980110
19991011
20032030
20040040
20050040
20061051
20070050
200801121
20090090
20100091
20110090
20120010
20130020
20140060
20150110
20160020
20170090
20180020
20190020
20200020
20210020
20221010
20230010
20240072
20251010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for North Richland Hills Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-02-2526,269
2024Full2025-02-2617,215

TCOLE lists this department as “NORTH RICHLAND HILLS POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Tarrant

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX2202100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.