PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Arlington Police Department

Arlington Police Department

City agency in Tarrant, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2016.

ORI
TX2200100
Type
City
County
Tarrant
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2016-02-01
Location
32.7391, -97.1135

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 406,035.

708Sworn officers
181Civilian staff
2.19Employees per 1,000 people
406,035Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025708181406,0352.19
2024736202399,8402.35
2023697210394,7992.30
2022679191391,5912.22
2021674186402,3232.14
2020682194402,7002.18
2019680202402,3042.19
2018673198400,9202.17
2013624183378,7652.13
2012623197379,2952.16
2011640200373,1282.25
2010629188365,4382.24

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Arlington Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1288448655.0%
2025121,65081649.5%
2024121,97681441.2%
2023121,96677139.2%
2022122,30981635.3%
2021122,33170630.3%
2020122,22766930.0%
2019122,13357026.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124,6341,10323.8%
2025128,0911,78022.0%
2024129,7341,67917.2%
20231210,2911,52614.8%
2022129,9651,36913.7%
20211210,3751,32712.8%
20201210,3841,48114.3%
20191211,3541,51513.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX2200100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Arlington Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 127,355
20251211,000
20241210,412
2023129,999
2022129,883
2021129,114
2020129,433
20191210,374

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX2200100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Arlington Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202511
20248
202315
202215
20216
202013
201917
201812
20177
20165
20122
20103
20086
20076
20061
20054
20045
20033
20024
20016
20008
199919
199814
199712
199623
199521
199429
199325
199249
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American190
Anti-White33
Anti-Hispanic or Latino24
Anti-Gay (Male)18
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)15
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry15
Anti-Asian12
Anti-Jewish10
Anti-Lesbian (Female)7
Anti-Protestant6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Other Christian1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX2200100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

34 people have died during an encounter with Arlington Police Department between 2001 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

34Deaths recorded
8.37Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot27
Vehicle3
Tasered2
Fell from a height1
Medical emergency1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (22) and Fatal Encounters (12). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Arlington Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm138
Knife or other cutting instrument39
Hands, fists or feet1,741
Other weapon304
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199532227
199601164
199731264
199811254
199900182
200002154
20011022
200200110
200310110
200400283
200500144
200621124
200731226
200801187
200922186
201010203
201120173
201210246
201301202
201400252
201500102
201600103
2017108615
201864588
201913210811
20204411513
20219115826
202212515712
20232011131
202435724819
202536331691

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Arlington Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-02-25103,408
2024Full2025-02-2783,335

TCOLE lists this department as “ARLINGTON POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Tarrant

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX2200100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.