PoliceCensus

Home / States / Pennsylvania / Greensburg Police Department

Greensburg Police Department

City agency in Westmoreland, Pennsylvania, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
PA0650200
Type
City
County
Westmoreland
State
Pennsylvania (PA)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
40.3111, -79.4667

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Greensburg Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 14,503.

26Sworn officers
4Civilian staff
2.07Employees per 1,000 people
14,503Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202526414,5032.07
202426714,5042.28
202326714,6022.26
20220014,8560.00
202126614,0042.29
202026614,0302.28
2019281014,1082.69
2018281014,2172.67
2017281014,3562.65
2016281014,4192.64
2015281014,4952.62
2014281014,6062.60

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Greensburg Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 12477
202512647
202412722
202312599
202210 of 12523
2021Not reported
202012607
201911 of 121,044

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record PA0650200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Greensburg Police Department in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record PA0650200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

3 people have died during an encounter with Greensburg Police Department between 2009 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

3Deaths recorded
20.69Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (2) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Greensburg Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2017. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet43
Other weapon10
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950010
19980010
20010001
20030041
20040062
20050011
20060043
20070041
20080030
20090020
20100030
20110011
20120010
20130030
20140030
20150020
20170040

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$5,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2023–2023Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Breathing Apparatus,Self-Contained1$5,0002023-11-17

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Westmoreland

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record PA0650200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.