PoliceCensus

Home / States / Pennsylvania / Derry Police Department

Derry Police Department

City agency in Westmoreland, Pennsylvania, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
PA0651500
Type
City
County
Westmoreland
State
Pennsylvania (PA)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
40.3333, -79.2988

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Derry Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 2,569.

2Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
0.78Employees per 1,000 people
2,569Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025202,5690.78
2024202,5690.78
2023202,5830.77
2022302,6001.15
2021302,4771.21
2020302,4941.20
2019102,5120.40
2018202,5400.79
2017202,5510.78
2016202,5760.78
2015302,5951.16
2014302,6291.14

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Derry Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 128
20251226
20241212
2023126
202210 of 124
2021Not reported
20201236
2019Annual total only10 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record PA0651500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Derry Police Department for 2002, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20021
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2002
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record PA0651500.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Derry Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2002. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet7
Other weapon0
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950010
19970010
19980010
19990010
20010020
20020010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Westmoreland

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record PA0651500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.