PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Matthews Police Department

Matthews Police Department

City agency in Mecklenburg, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0600700
Type
City
County
Mecklenburg
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.1239, -80.7227

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 32,715.

56Sworn officers
13Civilian staff
2.11Employees per 1,000 people
32,715Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025561332,7152.11
2024581831,4222.42
2023601330,4332.40
2022531129,7392.15
2021641634,4382.32
2020581633,8602.19
2019581133,3722.07
2018592032,8732.40
2017551532,2552.17
2016551331,4012.17
2015571330,7232.28
2014581329,9272.37

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Matthews Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12431330.2%
202512321546.9%
202412582848.3%
202312722940.3%
202212471634.0%
202112762532.9%
202012593966.1%
201912572442.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 125448215.1%
2025127479212.3%
20241283615418.4%
20231291212814.0%
20221288811713.2%
2021121,03514413.9%
2020121,08516315.0%
2019121,10814012.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0600700.

Arrests

Arrests made by Matthews Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12491
202512363
202412916
202312744
202212614
202112732
202012679
201912783

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0600700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Matthews Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20212
20203
20193
20101
20082
20063
20001
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American5
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-White2
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0600700.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Matthews Police Department between 2020 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
3.06Per 100,000 people policed
2020–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Matthews Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet127
Other weapon10
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950040
19960032
19970030
19981062
19990031
20000060
20010020
200200110
20030080
200400100
200500111
20060060
20070040
20080010
20091020
20100240
20110031
20120060
20130030
20141010
20150031
20160010
20170030
20180010
20190021
20200030
20210031
20220030
20230070
20240040

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Mecklenburg

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0600700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.