PoliceCensus

Home / States / North Carolina / Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department

City agency in Mecklenburg, North Carolina, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
NC0600100
Type
City
County
Mecklenburg
State
North Carolina (NC)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
35.2229, -80.838

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,035,037.

1,702Sworn officers
540Civilian staff
2.17Employees per 1,000 people
1,035,037Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,7025401,035,0372.17
20241,6416181,003,1302.25
20231,608642979,3042.30
20221,668539955,4662.31
20211,734547956,2822.39
20201,749571958,3582.42
20191,823472944,2602.43
20181,817525931,2352.51
20172,0351,387914,6093.74
20162,0371,349896,3793.78
20152,1361,348877,8173.97
20142,1271,355856,9164.06

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 123,6021,15832.1%
2025125,7871,79130.9%
2024127,3552,21230.1%
2023127,1082,21731.2%
2022127,1232,62836.9%
2021127,5033,11141.5%
2020128,0223,16039.4%
2019126,9942,88341.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1221,1922,75813.0%
20251235,3724,05811.5%
20241237,3053,90110.5%
20231237,7363,95010.5%
20221232,3874,18912.9%
20211230,2514,54315.0%
20201231,3405,60417.9%
20191237,2715,55314.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record NC0600100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 128,937
20251212,564
20241210,940
20231211,490
20221214,245
20211216,257
20201217,815
20191222,083

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record NC0600100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

20 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202520
202419
202327
202223
202117
202018
201914
201823
201732
201627
201529
201425
201321
201214
20117
201014
20098
20086
200710
200611
20053
20048
200311
200213
200116
20009
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American137
Anti-Gay (Male)53
Anti-Hispanic or Latino45
Anti-Jewish42
Anti-White42
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)20
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)18
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry18
Anti-Multiple Races, Group13
Anti-Other Religion7
Anti-Asian6
Anti-Protestant5
Anti-Bisexual4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Mental Disability3
Anti-Physical Disability3
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Arab1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record NC0600100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

69 people have died during an encounter with Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

69Deaths recorded
6.67Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot53
Vehicle9
Physical Restraint2
Tasered2
Medical emergency1
Drug overdose1
Drowned1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (35) and Fatal Encounters (34). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm370
Knife or other cutting instrument230
Hands, fists or feet9,455
Other weapon1,620
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995736629
1996527022
1997426622
1998546623
1999426022
2000325814
20011425222
2002737027
2003856832
2004655120
2005306220
2006716320
20071236328
20081656829
2009587922
2010216421
2011357122
20121237125
2013356423
2014626612
2015636410
2016906213
201721609
201830275
201918151,303162
202021301,368193
202133291,114183
20223823879111
202323341,008131
20242617928150
202559151,344198

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Mecklenburg

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record NC0600100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.