PoliceCensus

Home / States / Michigan / Flint Police Department

Flint Police Department

City agency in Genesee, Michigan, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
MI2539800
Type
City
County
Genesee
State
Michigan (MI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-01-01
Location
43.0119, -83.6864

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 79,396.

104Sworn officers
35Civilian staff
1.75Employees per 1,000 people
79,396Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251043579,3961.75
20241083879,1831.84
2023933679,2341.63
2022963480,0591.62
2021991794,2901.23
2020952294,8421.23
2019942395,2121.23
20181061395,6771.24
20171071396,6051.24
20161031497,5481.20
2015981598,2211.15
20141021699,1661.19

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Flint Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12578132.2%
202512871505.7%
2024121,003747.4%
2023121,131363.2%
202212994393.9%
2021121,016252.5%
2020121,159786.7%
2019121,3361027.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1244310.2%
20251286720.2%
2024121,062100.9%
2023121,385110.8%
2022121,08150.5%
20211291200.0%
2020121,779110.6%
2019122,061190.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MI2539800.

Arrests

Arrests made by Flint Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1216
20251299
202412158
202312105
20221252
20211234
202012111
201912261

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MI2539800.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Flint Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20242
20224
20216
202010
20192
201810
20179
201616
20156
201411
20124
20112
20099
200844
200734
200618
200560
200461
20022
20013
20009
19995
19951
19941
19937
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White125
Anti-Black or African American110
Anti-Heterosexual14
Anti-Gay (Male)13
Anti-Lesbian (Female)10
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)9
Anti-Bisexual8
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Mental Disability5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native4
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Male3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MI2539800.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

21 people have died during an encounter with Flint Police Department between 2000 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

21Deaths recorded
26.45Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle10
Gunshot7
Asphyxiated/Restrained3
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (18) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Flint Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm37
Knife or other cutting instrument13
Hands, fists or feet294
Other weapon88
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199560115
199600208
1997141811
1998111910
199933166
200000175
200140223
200230135
200310135
20040051
20051054
20060170
200741243
20080051
20091083
20101181
20111040
20122192
20130190
201410101
20152041
201600102
201740198
201800102
20191000
20200010
20230031
20240020
20250020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$658,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2013–2013Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$658,0002013-08-13

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Genesee

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MI2539800. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.