PoliceCensus

Home / States / Michigan / Burton Police Department

Burton Police Department

City agency in Genesee, Michigan, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
MI2583900
Type
City
County
Genesee
State
Michigan (MI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-01-01
Location
43.0211, -83.7064

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 29,358.

36Sworn officers
3Civilian staff
1.33Employees per 1,000 people
29,358Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202536329,3581.33
202328329,3431.06
202235329,3731.29
202132228,3191.20
202036228,4271.34
201936228,4961.33
201831228,4641.16
201736328,4391.37
201640328,5631.51
201540328,7391.50
201439328,9961.45
201329329,2631.09

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Burton Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121295945.7%
2025122069948.1%
20241222910445.4%
20231224411748.0%
20221224511346.1%
20211221410850.5%
2020121999246.2%
2019121367252.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 122846623.2%
20251257917830.7%
20241269317625.4%
20231291523525.7%
20221274920927.9%
20211273819025.7%
20201265722734.6%
20191273526435.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record MI2583900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Burton Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12406
202512767
202412700
202312917
202212853
202112817
202012831
201912971

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record MI2583900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Burton Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20244
20235
20222
20213
20204
20194
20185
20174
20161
20142
20132
20082
200710
20061
20052
20041
20034
20025
20014
20002
19992
19986
19974
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1997–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White34
Anti-Black or African American27
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native6
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record MI2583900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Burton Police Department between 2009 and 2009, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
3.41Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2009Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Burton Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet141
Other weapon33
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980031
20010030
20030011
20050020
20060081
20070041
20080020
20090130
20100061
20110032
20120061
20130041
20140160
20150140
20160042
201700101
201800104
20190061
202021110
20210291
20220077
202300115
20240052
202510131

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$106,367Original acquisition value
19Line items received
1995–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility2$100,9162014-04-02
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter17$5,4512010-09-03

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Genesee

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record MI2583900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.