PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Whittier Police Department

Whittier Police Department

City agency in Los Angeles, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0197600
Type
City
County
Los Angeles
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-06-01
Location
33.9745, -118.0327

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 85,082.

127Sworn officers
50Civilian staff
2.08Employees per 1,000 people
85,082Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251275085,0822.08
20241304983,1862.15
20231224983,2692.05
20221184883,6121.99
20211245082,9872.10
20201204985,0741.99
20191184986,1581.94
20181174787,0551.88
20171204687,1411.90
20161204787,8601.90
20151185187,8071.92
20141204986,9521.94

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Whittier Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 121445840.3%
20251233615144.9%
20241241216239.3%
20231235813437.4%
202210 of 1221511553.5%
2021Not reported
20201223717573.8%
20191221315874.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 12720537.4%
2025121,6821066.3%
2024122,004934.6%
2023121,9271196.2%
202210 of 121,3861218.7%
2021Not reported
2020121,63727616.9%
2019121,90837719.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0197600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Whittier Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 12726
2025121,472
2024121,251
2023121,259
202210 of 121,239
2021Not reported
2020121,838
2019122,747

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0197600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Whittier Police Department for 2021, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20211
20191
20111
20101
20095
20084
20073
20052
20045
20021
20014
19973
19964
19952
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2021
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American12
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Hispanic or Latino4
Anti-Other Religion3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-White2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0197600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

14 people have died during an encounter with Whittier Police Department between 2000 and 2021, according to the two datasets named below.

14Deaths recorded
16.45Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2021Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot10
Vehicle2
Physical Restraint1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (9) and Mapping Police Violence (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Whittier Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm8
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet222
Other weapon30
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510162
199600150
199700120
199800101
199900183
200010151
200113181
200210141
200320113
200401111
200500134
200600131
20070040
20090001
20110010
20160011
202320155
202402250
202500105

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$78,559Original acquisition value
2Line items received
2011–2017Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle1$77,0002017-06-26
Sight,Reflex3$1,5592011-11-03

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Los Angeles

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0197600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.