PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Baldwin Park Police Department

Baldwin Park Police Department

City agency in Los Angeles, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0190600
Type
City
County
Los Angeles
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-03-01
Location
34.0853, -117.9603

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 68,586.

60Sworn officers
26Civilian staff
1.25Employees per 1,000 people
68,586Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025602668,5861.25
2024552367,7911.15
2023592068,2301.16
2022592269,2051.17
2021562374,3891.06
2020632175,2331.12
2019702375,8621.23
2018683376,5411.32
2017692576,6361.23
2016653377,4001.27
2015652777,5381.19
2014652676,9331.18

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Baldwin Park Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121116155.0%
20251225212850.8%
20241227415255.5%
20231233812837.9%
20221231913843.3%
202110 of 122158539.5%
2020121617949.1%
2019121889550.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 125095911.6%
202512903758.3%
202412974757.7%
2023121,205816.7%
2022121,121655.8%
202110 of 126597311.1%
2020128689010.4%
2019121,11516614.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0190600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Baldwin Park Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12708
2025121,265
202412947
202312980
202212872
202110 of 12567
2020121,043
2019122,038

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0190600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Baldwin Park Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20222
20181
20161
20131
20114
20101
20061
20051
20042
20032
20023
20012
20004
19983
19973
19961
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American18
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Hispanic or Latino4
Anti-Gay (Male)3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0190600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

3 people have died during an encounter with Baldwin Park Police Department between 2007 and 2010, according to the two datasets named below.

3Deaths recorded
4.37Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2010Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Baldwin Park Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm13
Knife or other cutting instrument4
Hands, fists or feet215
Other weapon59
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950160
19960083
199710185
199801131
19990032
20000091
20011080
200201193
200330102
200410134
200510120
20061063
20072082
20080061
20091082
20100042
201100111
20120043
20131032
20140051
20150093
20160072
20171082
20180163
20190025
20200043
20230021
20240030
20250002

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Los Angeles

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0190600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.