PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / University of California: Davis

University of California: Davis

University or College agency in Yolo, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0579700
Type
University or College
County
Yolo
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-06-01
Location
38.6796, -121.9024

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

46Sworn officers
42Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202546420—
202446430—
202344370—
202242260—
202140250—
202039230—
201941260—
201843220—
201745250—
201646270—
201543400—
201445440—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by University of California: Davis in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 126466.7%
202512131076.9%
20241224937.5%
20231221419.0%
2022122500.0%
20215 of 12300.0%
202012500.0%
20191214535.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12395164.1%
202512748293.9%
202412856232.7%
20231286640.5%
20221294680.8%
20215 of 1211300.0%
20201268820.3%
201912908111.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0579700.

Arrests

Arrests made by University of California: Davis, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1282
202512138
202412154
20231267
20221268
20215 of 125
20201254
201912104

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0579700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

10 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for University of California: Davis for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202510
20231
20221
20194
20181
20161
20155
20143
20133
20111
20105
20092
20074
20031
20011
19982
19974
19961
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American18
Anti-Jewish8
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-White2
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Other Religion1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0579700.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with University of California: Davis between 2004 and 2004, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
0
2004–2004Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Also policing Yolo

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0579700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.