PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Davis Police Department

Davis Police Department

City agency in Yolo, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0570100
Type
City
County
Yolo
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-11-01
Location
38.6796, -121.9024

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 67,181.

58Sworn officers
24Civilian staff
1.22Employees per 1,000 people
67,181Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025582467,1811.22
2024532465,4831.18
2023562667,1931.22
2022522866,9391.20
202155069,1320.80
2020563269,8531.26
2019573569,7671.32
2018573469,4861.31
2017583368,5401.33
2016603168,0871.34
2015563667,0341.37
2014593366,3601.39

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Davis Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12783443.6%
2025121286046.9%
2024121247560.5%
2023121405841.4%
2022121716437.4%
20212 of 1222627.3%
202012982121.4%
2019121073129.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1278911214.2%
2025121,3531309.6%
2024121,47619913.5%
2023121,8701548.2%
2022121,898703.7%
20212 of 1242771.6%
2020122,466743.0%
2019122,19423810.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0570100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Davis Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12786
2025121,076
2024121,067
202312833
202212715
20212 of 12114
202012810
2019121,208

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0570100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Davis Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
202417
20239
202211
202120
202016
20191
201814
20177
20168
20156
20142
20138
20125
201110
201011
20093
20086
200711
20065
20054
200411
200310
20023
20019
20001
19992
19986
19975
19967
19953
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American57
Anti-Jewish36
Anti-Gay (Male)33
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry22
Anti-Asian19
Anti-Hispanic or Latino10
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)9
Anti-White9
Anti-Lesbian (Female)8
Anti-Multiple Races, Group6
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Other Christian2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Sikh1
Anti-Transgender1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0570100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

6 people have died during an encounter with Davis Police Department between 2007 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

6Deaths recorded
8.93Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot3
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Stabbed1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (5) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Davis Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet150
Other weapon32
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950030
19970110
19980011
20010042
20020071
200310140
20040193
20050050
20060061
20070183
20080050
20090093
20100052
20110050
20120073
20130071
20140040
20150080
20160032
20170040
20180041
20190120
20220071
20230281
20240064
20250083

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Yolo

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0570100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.