PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Pasadena Police Department

Pasadena Police Department

City agency in Los Angeles, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0195300
Type
City
County
Los Angeles
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-06-01
Location
34.1494, -118.1443

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 136,663.

218Sworn officers
121Civilian staff
2.48Employees per 1,000 people
136,663Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025218121136,6632.48
2024220113131,9662.52
2023213107132,2102.42
2022219107133,3122.45
2021221104141,4022.30
2020233125141,4732.53
2019222121141,9132.42
2018222111143,4482.32
2017229105142,8912.34
2016234123143,2882.49
2015221112141,8152.35
2014226103140,3732.34

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Pasadena Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1237224064.5%
20251257330553.2%
20241264133051.5%
20231270736451.5%
20221251027453.7%
2021Not reported
20201241428669.1%
20191261340866.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121,99931916.0%
2025123,22254817.0%
2024123,71650213.5%
2023123,49737810.8%
2022123,09233610.9%
2021Not reported
2020123,05143514.3%
2019122,90054818.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0195300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Pasadena Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,953
2025122,403
2024122,644
2023122,748
2022122,469
2021Not reported
2020123,436
2019125,519

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0195300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Pasadena Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202511
20246
20232
20223
20214
20205
20194
20183
20173
20162
20152
20144
20133
20122
20103
20095
200820
200717
200614
20058
20043
20032
20027
20018
20004
19993
19987
19968
199512
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American50
Anti-Hispanic or Latino30
Anti-Jewish15
Anti-Gay (Male)14
Anti-Other Religion12
Anti-Multiple Races, Group11
Anti-Asian9
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-White6
Anti-Transgender4
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0195300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

21 people have died during an encounter with Pasadena Police Department between 2003 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

21Deaths recorded
15.37Per 100,000 people policed
2003–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot16
Vehicle2
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (12) and Mapping Police Violence (9). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Pasadena Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm22
Knife or other cutting instrument20
Hands, fists or feet544
Other weapon131
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199502201
199610218
199711189
199820192
199900184
200010193
200101104
200200142
200313161
200400166
200510165
200600237
200700175
200800100
20090062
20100063
201110116
201210143
201331112
201410132
201520103
201601142
20170062
201800102
201920102
202020126
202212476
202313558
2024035510
2025132715

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$294,327Original acquisition value
10Line items received
2008–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Helicopter,Observation3$276,8702009-08-30
Tank,Lubricating Oil,Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine1$7,2492014-10-31
Gearshaft,Helical1$4,9352012-01-05
Ring,Swashplate Inner1$3,3962014-11-01
Trunnion,Main Rotor2$1,1182014-10-16
Connecting Link,Rigid2$6372014-01-17
Bolt,Turbine Tie6$1212012-01-05

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Los Angeles

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0195300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.