PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arizona / Tempe Police Department

Tempe Police Department

City agency in Maricopa, Arizona, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
AZ0072900
Type
City
County
Maricopa
State
Arizona (AZ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-01-01
Location
33.3465, -112.4955

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 191,348.

353Sworn officers
145Civilian staff
2.60Employees per 1,000 people
191,348Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025353145191,3482.60
2024327137191,3762.42
2023345128188,1442.51
2022343124187,4732.49
2021326134183,9732.50
2020346141199,9352.44
2019338142196,4992.44
2018346142188,5432.59
2017356139186,0862.66
2016355138178,6542.76
2015354136175,5562.79
2014349136169,8122.86

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Tempe Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1244622951.3%
20251279936846.1%
20241290138342.5%
20231295541743.7%
2022121,10339936.2%
20219 of 12300.0%
2020121,10037434.0%
20191288930534.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 123,06560819.8%
2025125,1691,08020.9%
2024125,5811,00718.0%
2023126,7901,01214.9%
2022128,20582810.1%
20219 of 122500.0%
2020127,15191612.8%
2019127,43982811.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AZ0072900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Tempe Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 123,956
2025127,317
2024127,855
2023128,385
2022127,960
20219 of 120
2020128,126
20191212,382

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AZ0072900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

14 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Tempe Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202514
202410
202322
20228
202111
20203
20194
20181
20161
20142
20133
20125
20113
20104
200912
20086
20075
20067
200510
20049
200310
20022
200111
20001
19999
199810
19978
199612
19957
199411
19939
199210
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American71
Anti-Gay (Male)47
Anti-Jewish30
Anti-Hispanic or Latino16
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry16
Anti-Asian13
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)10
Anti-White9
Anti-Protestant6
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native3
Anti-Arab3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AZ0072900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

21 people have died during an encounter with Tempe Police Department between 2000 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

21Deaths recorded
10.97Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot20
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (16) and Fatal Encounters (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Tempe Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm53
Knife or other cutting instrument38
Hands, fists or feet1,185
Other weapon308
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995112414
1996102915
199700289
199830216
1999211812
200020247
2001003015
2002003411
2003023215
200410337
2005003512
2006112712
2007112914
2008002618
200902287
201001263
2011212817
201212259
2013113613
201410209
201512292
201613315
201723293
201821336
201901345
202003254
202212917727
20237312223
20241101045
202500483

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$6Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2011–2011Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Suit,Cupola Protective Ensemble2$62011-12-05

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Maricopa

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AZ0072900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.