PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arizona / Gilbert Police Department

Gilbert Police Department

City agency in Maricopa, Arizona, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2008.

ORI
AZ0071100
Type
City
County
Maricopa
State
Arizona (AZ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2008-11-01
Location
33.3306, -111.7883

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 293,851.

310Sworn officers
161Civilian staff
1.60Employees per 1,000 people
293,851Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025310161293,8511.60
2024305164277,5271.69
2023326166278,4951.77
2022319147277,1231.68
2021291129272,9411.54
2020289133259,6291.63
2019281128253,6191.61
2018232154247,4631.56
2017231114242,0901.43
2016227114255,8991.33
2015225111247,3241.36
2014227106235,4301.41

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Gilbert Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1222812454.4%
20251234517149.6%
20241238317846.5%
20231234314742.9%
20221234413238.4%
20211233616749.7%
20201229311137.9%
20191225110441.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,58267642.7%
2025122,58099538.6%
2024122,73573026.7%
2023122,63654820.8%
2022122,84053118.7%
2021122,95051917.6%
2020122,82758920.8%
2019123,14567521.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AZ0071100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Gilbert Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 124,588
2025127,149
2024126,719
2023126,032
2022125,419
2021125,456
2020125,940
2019125,229

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AZ0071100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Gilbert Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20206
20192
20181
20173
20161
20154
20142
20131
20122
20113
20085
20077
20063
20055
20049
20038
200211
20018
200011
19998
19985
19977
19961
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American49
Anti-Jewish15
Anti-Other Religion13
Anti-Hispanic or Latino10
Anti-Multiple Races, Group9
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Other Christian1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AZ0071100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

9 people have died during an encounter with Gilbert Police Department between 2007 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

9Deaths recorded
3.06Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot7
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (8) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Gilbert Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm7
Knife or other cutting instrument4
Hands, fists or feet519
Other weapon51
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19951050
19960030
19970140
19980031
19990020
20000046
200100122
20021164
20030044
20040033
20050072
200600182
200701113
200810130
20090072
20100062
201100100
201200183
20130040
201400140
201500120
201600163
201700162
201820411
201901221
202000272
202100680
202210322
202300370
202400431
202510515

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$801,689Original acquisition value
88Line items received
1998–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$689,0002014-03-28
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground1$77,0602021-01-10
Sight,Reflex117$25,7642015-05-19
Illuminator,Infrared3$5,9742013-12-05
Goggles,Nightvisio1$2,7482014-01-15
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter2$9981998-12-17
Sight,Rear75$842011-01-30
Mount,Sight32$332013-10-29
Magazine,Cartridge500$162012-08-18
Adapter Rail,Weapon Mounted102$122013-10-02

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Maricopa

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AZ0071100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.