PoliceCensus

Home / States / Alabama / Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Jefferson, Alabama, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
AL0010000
Type
County
County
Jefferson
State
Alabama (AL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
33.5534, -86.8965

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 145,845.

466Sworn officers
134Civilian staff
4.11Employees per 1,000 people
145,845Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025466134145,8454.11
2024506150147,3494.45
2023477144146,9044.23
2022492151149,0984.31
2021581204156,8655.00
2020531154145,6144.70
2019530160146,3014.72
2018539164146,3854.80
2015464137145,8014.12
2013436114145,2883.79
2012428127146,0283.80
2011440133146,0443.92

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Jefferson County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 123117925.4%
2025125499817.9%
20241266511917.9%
20231271915721.8%
20221280318923.5%
2021127009513.6%
2020122928529.1%
2019122166228.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,158645.5%
2025122,2361094.9%
2024122,7751425.1%
2023122,9761565.2%
2022122,7721585.7%
2021122,2621044.6%
2020127528611.4%
2019125087314.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AL0010000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12873
2025121,438
2024121,157
2023121,289
2022121,666
2021121,029
2020121,030
2019122,740

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AL0010000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

36 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Jefferson County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202536
202433
202333
202230
202129
20041
19931
19921
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White68
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry22
Anti-Black or African American19
Anti-Transgender12
Anti-Sikh9
Anti-Gay (Male)5
Anti-Physical Disability5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Other Christian3
Anti-Protestant3
Anti-Bisexual2
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AL0010000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

12 people have died during an encounter with Jefferson County Sheriff's Office between 2012 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

12Deaths recorded
8.23Per 100,000 people policed
2012–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle6
Gunshot5
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (7) and Mapping Police Violence (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$2.7mOriginal acquisition value
34Line items received
2009–2026Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Helicopter,Flight Trainer1$833,4002015-06-23
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$689,0002020-02-12
Mk3mod02$480,3822012-12-13
Truck,Ambulance2$239,3842020-02-04
Eod Search Kit4$230,5282012-06-11
Tractor,Wheeled,Industrial1$78,0002026-06-11
Truck,Utility1$41,4472011-06-09
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground4$40,0002012-12-07
Detector,Explosive Ordnance10$26,9322012-11-08
Night Vision Goggle4$14,3122010-03-10
Alternator,Permanen1$7,1112011-05-09
Tool Kit,Explosive Ordnance Disposal7$3,4282012-07-27
Truck And Tractor Attachments2$8002026-06-09
Armor, Personal12$3002013-01-03
Tire And Wheel Asse2$2702013-07-18
Eod Robot2$2462018-05-10
Armament Training Devices8$1272009-12-11
Loader,Scoop Type,Full Tracked1$02026-06-05

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Jefferson

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AL0010000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.