PoliceCensus

Home / States / West Virginia / Huntington Police Department

Huntington Police Department

City agency in Cabell, Wayne, West Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
WV0060200
Type
City
County
Cabell, Wayne
State
West Virginia (WV)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-01-01
Location
38.4196, -82.2434

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 44,500.

95Sworn officers
16Civilian staff
2.49Employees per 1,000 people
44,500Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025951644,5002.49
2024901244,8602.27
2023901245,2512.25
202294445,5472.15
202194444,5222.20
202093344,6842.15
201992245,6752.06
201897346,7872.14
201797347,9332.09
20161051148,5402.39
20151061448,7282.46
2013102849,1722.24

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Huntington Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121664325.9%
2025122987625.5%
2024123597922.0%
2023123547721.8%
2022123476819.6%
2021122945418.4%
2020123686818.5%
2019123316619.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1288110612.0%
2025121,49821514.4%
2024121,62323214.3%
2023121,516986.5%
2022121,5241187.7%
2021121,5561248.0%
2020121,6641207.2%
2019121,8131729.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WV0060200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Huntington Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12782
2025121,383
2024121,404
202312898
202212793
2021121,108
202012915
2019121,189

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WV0060200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Huntington Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20231
20213
20193
20181
20171
20162
20138
20123
20104
20092
20088
200711
20068
20057
20048
200313
20029
20019
200022
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American74
Anti-Lesbian (Female)23
Anti-White6
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Heterosexual3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WV0060200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

10 people have died during an encounter with Huntington Police Department between 2004 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

10Deaths recorded
22.47Per 100,000 people policed
2004–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot7
Vehicle2
Drowned1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (6) and Mapping Police Violence (4). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WV0060200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.