PoliceCensus

Home / States / West Virginia / Harrison County Sheriff's Office

Harrison County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Harrison, West Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1998.

ORI
WV0170000
Type
County
County
Harrison
State
West Virginia (WV)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1998-07-01
Location
39.2639, -80.3267

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 31,563.

50Sworn officers
3Civilian staff
1.68Employees per 1,000 people
31,563Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202550331,5631.68
202453231,6721.74
202353631,6301.87
202254531,5411.87
202154533,7181.75
202053433,9961.68
201953433,8501.68
201853434,1701.67
201751734,2581.69
201651234,4481.54
201549534,5811.56
201345134,8391.32

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Harrison County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12191157.9%
202512361027.8%
202412351234.3%
20231232928.1%
20221250918.0%
202112451840.0%
202012421331.0%
201912251456.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1283910.8%
20251215485.2%
202412215157.0%
202312183137.1%
202212220125.5%
2021122312310.0%
20201212697.1%
20191220840.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WV0170000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Harrison County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12111
202512227
202412195
202312183
202212190
202112198
202012192
201912307

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WV0170000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Harrison County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20242
20233
20222
20213
20202
20171
20135
20081
20061
20021
20001
19991
19981
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1998–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Sikh7
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-White4
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Black or African American1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WV0170000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Harrison County Sheriff's Office between 2014 and 2018, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
12.67Per 100,000 people policed
2014–2018Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (3) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1,826Original acquisition value
8Line items received
1996–2006Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter2$9982006-11-13
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter6$8282006-11-13

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Harrison

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WV0170000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.