PoliceCensus

Home / States / Wisconsin / Mount Pleasant Police Department

Mount Pleasant Police Department

City agency in Racine, Wisconsin, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2017.

ORI
WI0520700
Type
City
County
Racine
State
Wisconsin (WI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2017-01-01
Location
42.6974, -87.8558

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 28,292.

56Sworn officers
5Civilian staff
2.16Employees per 1,000 people
28,292Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202556528,2922.16
202454527,7312.13
202356627,5402.25
202254627,6252.17
202156727,0842.33
202055627,1252.25
201956627,0702.29
201851526,5712.11
201748526,3872.01
201648526,2862.02
201543626,3161.86
201443626,2311.87

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Mount Pleasant Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 1210440.0%
202512271659.3%
202412342058.8%
202312391948.7%
202212341647.1%
202112382360.5%
202012493673.5%
201912423071.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 12861922.1%
20251234813639.1%
20241248924950.9%
20231253022442.3%
20221249014329.2%
20211244614031.4%
20201249817735.5%
20191253920638.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WI0520700.

Arrests

Arrests made by Mount Pleasant Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 12176
202512641
202412795
202312996
202212839
202112875
202012962
2019121,411

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WI0520700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Mount Pleasant Police Department for 1996, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
19961
19951
19913
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–1996
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WI0520700.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Mount Pleasant Police Department between 2019 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
3.53Per 100,000 people policed
2019–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Mount Pleasant Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1996 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet61
Other weapon5
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19960011
20000010
20040010
20050020
20060011
20070030
20090021
20110010
20120020
20130020
20140030
20150020
20160010
20170050
20180011
20191040
20200020
20210050
20220051
202300130
20240020
20250020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Racine

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WI0520700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.