PoliceCensus

Home / States / Wisconsin / Milwaukee Police Department

Milwaukee Police Department

City agency in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2004.

ORI
WIMPD0000
Type
City
County
Milwaukee
State
Wisconsin (WI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2004-01-01
Location
43.0438, -87.9026

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 559,717.

1,553Sworn officers
320Civilian staff
3.35Employees per 1,000 people
559,717Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,553320559,7173.35
20241,568275560,4163.29
20231,617231558,6983.31
20221,5930561,7432.84
20211,654361593,3373.40
20201,752438589,1053.72
20191,850415590,9233.83
20181,851454595,6193.87
20171,824468595,1683.85
20161,889439600,1933.88
20151,886632600,4004.19
20141,890646600,3744.22

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Milwaukee Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20262 of 1281030337.4%
2025126,4092,64941.3%
2024128,1393,40941.9%
2023128,3933,42640.8%
2022128,6783,04835.1%
2021129,6113,70538.5%
2020129,5963,26334.0%
2019127,9852,94236.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20262 of 121,595795.0%
20251213,4398556.4%
20241215,5361,0566.8%
20231215,7541,0396.6%
20221218,7371,2016.4%
20211225,3329643.8%
20201216,6927104.3%
20191215,4139616.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WIMPD0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Milwaukee Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20262 of 121,282
20251212,488
20241212,044
20231211,769
2022129,685
20211211,216
20201211,003
20191214,228

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WIMPD0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Milwaukee Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20247
20233
20226
20211
20202
20192
20183
20175
20166
20155
201411
20139
201214
201125
201035
200916
200830
200726
200645
200511
20042
20032
20021
20013
19991
19973
19963
19955
19943
19932
199216
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White91
Anti-Black or African American70
Anti-Gay (Male)33
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native15
Anti-Hispanic or Latino15
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)13
Anti-Catholic10
Anti-Jewish10
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry10
Anti-Lesbian (Female)7
Anti-Bisexual6
Anti-Other Religion6
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Transgender1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WIMPD0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

119 people have died during an encounter with Milwaukee Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

119Deaths recorded
21.26Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot82
Vehicle29
Drowned3
Medical emergency3
Beaten1
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (83) and Mapping Police Violence (36). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Milwaukee Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm365
Knife or other cutting instrument68
Hands, fists or feet3,664
Other weapon963
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995206111
199612597
1997006110
1999015415
2000107018
200101595
2002325710
200392643
200491713
2006736111
20071107022
2008817625
2009628746
20101005625
2011814220
2012635029
20131484329
2014645328
20151115327
2016614531
201722537984
201836024199
201917021139
202027017363
202130230370
2022311127574
202331432960
202424529054
202529827145

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$608,956Original acquisition value
25Line items received
2010–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility6$556,4842020-03-30
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground2$25,4092017-07-25
Sight,Night Vision Sniperscope2$20,1782016-10-20
Sight,Reflex88$3,3942016-02-03
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms66$2,9102019-10-23
Optical Sighting And Ranging Equipment1$5002020-01-24
Adapter Rail,Weapon Mounted30$812020-01-24

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Milwaukee

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WIMPD0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.