PoliceCensus

Home / States / Wisconsin / Manitowoc Police Department

Manitowoc Police Department

City agency in Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2008.

ORI
WI0360100
Type
City
County
Manitowoc
State
Wisconsin (WI)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2008-01-01
Location
44.0897, -87.6594

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 34,604.

65Sworn officers
11Civilian staff
2.20Employees per 1,000 people
34,604Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025651134,6042.20
2024641134,5462.17
2023621134,5382.11
2022651134,6882.19
2021601132,2332.20
2020631032,4582.25
2019641032,4972.28
2018641032,5572.27
2017641032,8132.26
2016631032,8772.22
2015641032,9612.25
2014611033,2502.14

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Manitowoc Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 122020100.0%
202512565496.4%
202412726691.7%
202312565191.1%
202212686291.2%
202112756992.0%
202012878294.3%
201912736994.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 12533769.8%
20251226217064.9%
20241233620260.1%
20231241321552.1%
20221252527552.4%
20211255222640.9%
20201254024745.7%
20191263235956.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WI0360100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Manitowoc Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20263 of 12441
2025121,799
2024122,236
2023122,006
2022122,079
2021122,041
2020121,796
2019122,655

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WI0360100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Manitowoc Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20231
20201
20171
20161
20114
20093
20085
19941
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Black or African American3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Buddhist2
Anti-Hindu2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WI0360100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Manitowoc Police Department between 2018 and 2018, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
2.89Per 100,000 people policed
2018–2018Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Manitowoc Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet246
Other weapon9
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500121
19961050
19970040
19990010
20000100
20010020
20020060
20030020
20040010
20050020
20060050
20070051
20080040
20090090
20100050
20110070
20120020
20130140
20140090
20150040
20160092
201700420
20180080
201910101
202010120
202100100
202200183
202300171
202400100
202500210

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Manitowoc

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WI0360100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.