PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Washington State University: Pullman

Washington State University: Pullman

University or College agency in Whitman, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2011.

ORI
WA0380500
Type
University or College
County
Whitman
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2011-04-01
Location
46.9033, -117.523

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

18Sworn officers
4Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251840—
20241730—
20231640—
20221740—
20212230—
20202240—
20192240—
20182150—
20172150—
20161850—
20151950—
20142150—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Washington State University: Pullman in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
2025127228.6%
20241210110.0%
2023128225.0%
2022127342.9%
2021126116.7%
2020124125.0%
2019128225.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
2025125723.5%
2024125311.9%
2023128944.5%
2022127945.1%
2021123612.8%
20201230413.3%
20191252611.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0380500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Washington State University: Pullman, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20261 of 121
20251277
20241295
20231260
20221271
20211265
202012109
201912194

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0380500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Washington State University: Pullman for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20241
20234
20221
20212
20171
20161
20151
20131
20123
20111
20091
20086
20022
20012
20003
19973
19962
19955
19947
19933
19921
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American14
Anti-Gay (Male)7
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Transgender1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0380500.

Also policing Whitman

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0380500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.