PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Sequim Police Department

Sequim Police Department

City agency in Clallam, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2011.

ORI
WA0050300
Type
City
County
Clallam
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2011-01-01
Location
48.1109, -123.8899

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 8,232.

21Sworn officers
5Civilian staff
3.16Employees per 1,000 people
8,232Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20252158,2323.16
20242058,2483.03
20232058,4472.96
20221868,4392.84
20211967,9113.16
20202047,7683.09
20192047,5993.16
20181947,1833.20
20171937,0253.13
20161936,8683.20
20151936,7673.25
20141936,6823.29

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Sequim Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 126583.3%
202512211990.5%
202412141178.6%
202312351131.4%
202212201680.0%
202112201260.0%
202012131076.9%
201912171376.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 12752837.3%
2025121436243.4%
2024121848546.2%
2023121735129.5%
20221231110333.1%
2021122077737.2%
2020122237634.1%
20191231912840.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WA0050300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Sequim Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 1299
202512236
202412220
202312233
202212287
202112215
202012259
201912318

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WA0050300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Sequim Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20221
20211
20142
20121
20102
20091
20072
20041
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2004–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-White2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Other Religion1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WA0050300.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Sequim Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2001 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument5
Hands, fists or feet28
Other weapon11
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20010100
20060020
20070010
20090120
20100041
20110001
20120010
20150020
20160001
20170020
20180020
20190130
20200021
20210113
20220114
20230030
20240020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$319,937Original acquisition value
48Line items received
2011–2022Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle2$154,0002022-03-01
Night Vision Goggle22$78,7162011-06-07
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground3$59,4002022-08-11
Scope,Night Vision1$6,9382012-06-25
Night Vision Sight Assembly2$6,4142011-04-19
Binocular2$6,1202011-06-25
Sight,Reflex22$4,7462021-07-30
Illuminator,Infrared4$1,6622017-11-14
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms11$1,0732018-03-29
Magnifier Lens Assembly16$8692011-06-25

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Sequim Police Department” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2022-11-30. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing Clallam

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WA0050300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.