PoliceCensus

Home / States / Washington / Seattle Police Department

Seattle Police Department

City agency in King, Washington, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2012.

ORI
WASPD0000
Type
City
County
King
State
Washington (WA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2012-01-01
Location
47.4936, -121.8324

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 791,503.

1,064Sworn officers
454Civilian staff
1.92Employees per 1,000 people
791,503Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,064454791,5031.92
20241,046442760,0581.96
20231,065413753,7861.96
20221,077341729,6911.94
20211,178419787,7492.03
20201,341559771,5172.46
20191,416544763,7062.57
20181,420534742,7592.63
20171,448515721,3652.72
20161,384562700,3132.78
20151,350569683,7002.81
20141,323566663,4102.85

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Seattle Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 123,0601,04034.0%
2025125,5841,84533.0%
2024125,9941,90131.7%
2023125,9771,91932.1%
2022126,2011,96731.7%
2021125,9661,83630.8%
2020124,9011,63933.4%
2019125,0201,81536.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1218,7287123.8%
20251235,2991,2693.6%
20241238,8321,4873.8%
20231238,2651,4593.8%
20221242,1491,7644.2%
20211240,7561,3203.2%
20201238,0121,4983.9%
20191237,3952,4666.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record WASPD0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Seattle Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 124,367
2025128,275
2024127,903
2023128,400
2022129,045
2021127,217
2020128,581
20191212,735

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record WASPD0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

112 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Seattle Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
2025112
202495
2023108
2022108
2021167
2020142
2019240
2018291
2017232
2016126
201583
2014108
201390
201286
201112
201015
200914
200821
200728
200611
200518
200425
200325
200217
200127
200021
199931
199828
199736
199627
199540
199443
1993125
1992106
199174
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American604
Anti-Gay (Male)460
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)263
Anti-White261
Anti-Asian196
Anti-Jewish188
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry135
Anti-Hispanic or Latino103
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native86
Anti-Transgender79
Anti-Lesbian (Female)53
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)46
Anti-Multiple Races, Group37
Anti-Catholic32
Anti-Arab30
Anti-Female18
Anti-Other Christian12
Anti-Other Religion11
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming8
Anti-Mental Disability7
Anti-Protestant7
Anti-Physical Disability6
Anti-Bisexual5
Anti-Heterosexual5
Anti-Hindu4
Anti-Male4
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)2
Anti-Sikh2
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Jehovah's Witness1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

62 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record WASPD0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

88 people have died during an encounter with Seattle Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

88Deaths recorded
11.12Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot67
Vehicle14
Tasered2
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Physical restraint1
Gunshot, Taser1
Drowned1
Drug overdose1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (53) and Mapping Police Violence (35). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Seattle Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm143
Knife or other cutting instrument300
Hands, fists or feet7,552
Other weapon1,505
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995548511
1996428410
1997857410
1998438111
199902766
200030734
200111713
200211752
200322722
200403700
200532578
2006315514
200701504
200813164
200924365
201013463
201102434
201202394
201302374
201401225
201500403
2016154713
2017151431429
201842745040
20198447177
2020791,017692
2021430893133
2022342893492
2023128970198
2024102183593
20251029688121

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Federal oversight

The Department of Justice Civil Rights Division has taken the following action against Seattle Police Department under 34 U.S.C. § 12601. The case type and document titles below are DOJ’s own words, reproduced without interpretation — see all federal oversight matters on /oversight.

Source: Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Special Litigation Section.

Washington use-of-force policy

The Washington State Attorney General’s Office publishes a register of law enforcement agencies. Its question is whether the agency’s use-of-force policy is consistent with the AGO model policy. The register lists this agency as “Seattle Police Department” and answers:

Yes

Last updated, as the AGO’s register shows it: 2022-11-30. That is the date on the register, not a date Police Census checked the policy, and the answer may have changed since.

Policy document linked by the AGO

Source: Washington Attorney General, law enforcement use of force and de-escalation, read on 2026-10-08. The register’s entries are matched to FBI agency records by name; Police Census attaches one only where exactly one agency fits.

Also policing King

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record WASPD0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.