PoliceCensus

Home / States / Vermont / State Police: St. Albans

State Police: St. Albans

State Police agency in Franklin, Vermont, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1993.

ORI
VTVSP0700
Type
State Police
County
Franklin
State
Vermont (VT)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1993-01-01
Location
44.859, -72.9094

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 36,961.

18Sworn officers
2Civilian staff
0.54Employees per 1,000 people
36,961Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202518236,9610.54
202419237,4320.56
202320237,0880.59
202221236,6960.63
202125238,2930.71
202027236,1850.80
201919336,0390.61
201829236,0930.86
201727235,7440.81
201628335,5860.87
201530235,5060.90
201427235,1200.83

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by State Police: St. Albans in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12302790.0%
202512603151.7%
202412734663.0%
202312413790.2%
202212483981.3%
202112533769.8%
202012502550.0%
201912402665.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12941718.1%
2025122395422.6%
2024123034213.9%
202312993030.3%
2022121011514.9%
2021121401812.9%
202012147106.8%
2019122092612.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VTVSP0700.

Arrests

Arrests made by State Police: St. Albans, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12202
202512351
202412381
202312266
202212293
202112187
202012236
201912302

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VTVSP0700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for State Police: St. Albans for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20226
20212
20201
20191
20131
20111
20091
20071
20022
20011
19971
19962
19951
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American10
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-White2
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VTVSP0700.

Also policing Franklin

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VTVSP0700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.