PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Stafford County Sheriff's Office

Stafford County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Stafford, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
VA0890000
Type
County
County
Stafford
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-01-01
Location
38.4154, -77.4549

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 172,285.

215Sworn officers
76Civilian staff
1.69Employees per 1,000 people
172,285Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202521576172,2851.69
202421574169,3691.71
202321272166,4131.71
202220868164,7871.67
202120773159,5321.76
202019266155,5571.66
201918467151,8111.65
201817965148,8611.64
201717861146,7531.63
201617367143,7691.67
201516765142,2861.63
201416870138,6731.72

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Stafford County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1219615478.6%
20251230117056.5%
20241238624262.7%
20231232716550.5%
20221231518759.4%
20211232018156.6%
20201231217957.4%
20191234018554.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124349822.6%
2025121,07323321.7%
2024121,29835727.5%
2023121,45534223.5%
2022121,38525218.2%
2021121,26229023.0%
2020121,17928524.2%
2019121,43438827.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA0890000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Stafford County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,404
2025122,430
2024123,616
2023125,019
2022124,286
2021123,945
2020124,306
2019124,981

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA0890000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Stafford County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20242
20232
20223
20213
20203
20194
20182
20175
20164
20145
20127
20091
20052
19981
19952
19941
19933
19921
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American33
Anti-White4
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA0890000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

11 people have died during an encounter with Stafford County Sheriff's Office between 2007 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

11Deaths recorded
6.38Per 100,000 people policed
2007–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot10
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (8) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$163,262Original acquisition value
18Line items received
2016–2016Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Image Intensifier,Night Vision9$117,0272016-03-17
Viewer,Night Vision4$39,9602016-03-17
Illuminator,Infrared11$5,4002016-03-11
Sight,Reflex31$8752016-04-08

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Stafford

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA0890000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.