PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Prince William County Police Department

Prince William County Police Department

County agency in Prince William, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
VA0750300
Type
County
County
Prince William
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-01-01
Location
38.7011, -77.4796

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 492,615.

656Sworn officers
182Civilian staff
1.70Employees per 1,000 people
492,615Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025656182492,6151.70
2024673123486,5441.64
2023651172480,4671.71
2022619159479,0581.62
2021645151472,8901.68
2020659167468,2811.76
2019648139465,0071.69
2018654129461,9721.69
2017664140454,4891.77
2016611133449,9681.65
2015602130446,5741.64
2014582118438,5311.60

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Prince William County Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1258941169.8%
2025121,05272669.0%
2024121,26075760.1%
2023121,33481160.8%
2022121,33373254.9%
2021121,05756053.0%
20201299658458.6%
20191277550665.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 123,0631,10636.1%
2025126,3152,05732.6%
2024127,1931,95227.1%
2023126,5691,82627.8%
2022126,4661,38621.4%
2021125,2611,10621.0%
2020124,7871,11323.3%
2019124,7571,23025.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA0750300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Prince William County Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 125,268
2025128,875
2024129,402
2023129,961
2022128,290
2021127,874
2020128,622
20191212,416

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA0750300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

30 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Prince William County Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202530
202420
20232
20212
20203
20193
20184
20171
20168
20091
20072
20021
19981
19971
199611
19954
19943
19935
19927
19915
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American55
Anti-Jewish36
Anti-Hispanic or Latino6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)4
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-White2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA0750300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

12 people have died during an encounter with Prince William County Police Department between 2004 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

12Deaths recorded
2.44Per 100,000 people policed
2004–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot11
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (8) and Fatal Encounters (4). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Prince William County Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm27
Knife or other cutting instrument43
Hands, fists or feet3,263
Other weapon462
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199502302
199610210
199700292
199800257
199910379
200000307
2001113612
200200258
200300348
200411284
2005112812
2006103514
2007233615
2008023516
2009003114
201000299
2011102413
2012012610
201300249
201410262
201500286
2016213010
201701023425
20186526217
20190032513
20202424052
20212018328
20222730318
20232233942
20241337336
20250035742

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Prince William

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA0750300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.