PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Newport News Police Department

Newport News Police Department

City agency in Newport News City, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1998.

ORI
VA1160000
Type
City
County
Newport News City
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1998-07-01
Location
37.0293, -76.4506

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 182,798.

452Sworn officers
166Civilian staff
3.38Employees per 1,000 people
182,798Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025452166182,7983.38
2024441170183,5633.33
2023436160183,6003.25
2022428179183,9033.30
2021437176178,6623.43
2020449174178,8963.48
2019445158177,3193.40
2018421146178,7343.17
2017431148181,7383.19
2016410137181,6763.01
2015416146182,9753.07
2014420125182,3742.99

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Newport News Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 1247929461.4%
2025121,45193864.6%
2024121,37188364.4%
2023121,62098560.8%
2022121,14959952.1%
2021121,19259049.5%
2020121,13272163.7%
2019121,07764660.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 121,68931418.6%
2025124,17186020.6%
2024124,5021,00322.3%
2023124,67497720.9%
2022124,25160514.2%
2021123,60967918.8%
2020123,71282122.1%
2019124,55392520.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA1160000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Newport News Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 122,423
2025126,123
2024126,505
2023126,801
2022125,451
2021125,002
2020127,761
2019128,609

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA1160000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Newport News Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20243
20234
20223
20212
20204
20194
20185
20174
20164
20153
20144
20135
20122
20118
201011
20094
200812
20079
200618
200516
20043
20034
200211
20019
20007
19996
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1999–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American55
Anti-White33
Anti-Gay (Male)16
Anti-Jewish13
Anti-Hispanic or Latino7
Anti-Lesbian (Female)7
Anti-Other Religion6
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native5
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA1160000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

16 people have died during an encounter with Newport News Police Department between 2001 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

16Deaths recorded
8.75Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot15
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (8) and Mapping Police Violence (8). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Newport News Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm47
Knife or other cutting instrument20
Hands, fists or feet1,908
Other weapon252
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500452
199600413
199700432
199801433
1999023315
2000403414
2001124015
200212448
200333418
200421335
200500313
200600388
2007103510
2008113413
200910257
201100317
201220252
201300369
201411243
201500174
201600144
201712207
201801461
2019121095
20206013515
2021305711
202200734
202311229415
20246019413
20252027336

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$28,951Original acquisition value
85Line items received
2006–2012Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter75$27,5712012-02-28
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter10$1,3802006-06-08

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA1160000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.