PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Manassas Police Department

Manassas Police Department

City agency in Manassas City, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1996.

ORI
VA0750100
Type
City
County
Manassas City
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1996-11-01
Location
38.7486, -77.4641

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 43,966.

99Sworn officers
30Civilian staff
2.93Employees per 1,000 people
43,966Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025993043,9662.93
2024952943,0282.88
2023853242,6522.74
2022983542,8363.10
2021902941,0982.90
2020923241,3863.00
2019853341,8502.82
2018902841,8882.82
2017902441,9952.71
2016922742,2672.82
2015922442,9772.70
2014933442,6412.98

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Manassas Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12855261.2%
2025121358260.7%
2024121196151.3%
2023121115045.0%
2022121276248.8%
2021121145346.5%
2020121305945.4%
2019121076056.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 122864716.4%
2025125898013.6%
20241282414717.8%
20231278311915.2%
20221296013313.9%
2021127549412.5%
20201266810115.1%
20191264610115.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA0750100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Manassas Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12929
2025121,374
2024121,760
2023122,090
2022121,794
2021121,360
2020121,261
2019121,668

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA0750100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Manassas Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20221
20171
20161
20151
20142
20131
20124
20101
20091
20076
20066
200510
20049
20036
200218
20013
20009
19998
19983
199711
19963
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American34
Anti-Asian17
Anti-Other Religion16
Anti-White10
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Jewish6
Anti-Protestant4
Anti-Hispanic or Latino3
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA0750100.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Manassas Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument4
Hands, fists or feet599
Other weapon49
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510101
19960071
19970030
19980063
19990011
20000051
200100100
20020090
20030040
20040070
200500110
200600122
200702141
20080060
200900110
20100061
20110084
20120145
201300112
201400130
201500140
201600111
201700311
201800221
201900301
202000160
202100382
202200460
202300972
202401445
2025009214

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA0750100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.