PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Harrisonburg Police Department

Harrisonburg Police Department

City agency in Harrisonburg City, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
VA1120000
Type
City
County
Harrisonburg City
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-03-01
Location
38.4505, -78.8683

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 51,165.

108Sworn officers
23Civilian staff
2.56Employees per 1,000 people
51,165Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251082351,1652.56
2024972151,2702.30
2023992050,9282.34
2022862451,3632.14
2021992353,5822.28
20201012253,4422.30
20191091854,3872.34
20181012054,8692.21
2017991853,7172.18
2016951852,9722.13
2015922153,2262.12
2014941552,0262.10

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Harrisonburg Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12746891.9%
2025121088578.7%
20241213810173.2%
2023121148171.1%
2022121339470.7%
2021121318363.4%
2020121218570.2%
2019121217461.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1238810627.3%
20251271717324.1%
20241287423627.0%
2023121,05424223.0%
20221294116918.0%
20211281920124.5%
20201282823428.3%
20191294822623.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA1120000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Harrisonburg Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 121,338
2025122,304
2024122,414
2023122,241
2022121,974
2021121,798
2020121,924
2019121,992

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA1120000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Harrisonburg Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20246
20235
20221
20201
20191
20172
20164
20142
20134
20123
20112
20103
20092
20084
20073
20063
20042
19992
19982
19972
19942
19929
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American33
Anti-Hispanic or Latino8
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Gay (Male)5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-White3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA1120000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Harrisonburg Police Department between 2015 and 2018, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
3.91Per 100,000 people policed
2015–2018Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Harrisonburg Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm6
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet272
Other weapon51
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950001
19970012
19980071
19990011
20000051
20010045
20020074
20030026
20041073
20050051
20060112
20070183
20080060
20090091
20100044
20110042
20122050
201300110
20140171
20150011
20160030
201710200
201801122
201900123
20200162
20211071
202210352
202300350
202400232
202501240

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$733,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2014–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-04-14

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA1120000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.