PoliceCensus

Home / States / Virginia / Exmore Police Department

Exmore Police Department

City agency in Northampton, Virginia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1998.

ORI
VA0650200
Type
City
County
Northampton
State
Virginia (VA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1998-12-01
Location
37.3026, -75.9239

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,405.

7Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
4.98Employees per 1,000 people
1,405Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025701,4054.98
2024701,4184.94
2023701,3995.00
2022701,4324.89
2021701,3525.18
2020701,3625.14
2019701,3685.12
2018601,3864.33
2017601,4384.17
2016601,4434.16
2015601,4404.17
2014601,4444.16

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Exmore Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1244100.0%
20251255100.0%
20241237233.3%
20231210550.0%
2022123266.7%
20211213323.1%
2020127114.3%
2019129222.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 126583.3%
2025129888.9%
202412131292.3%
20231229620.7%
202212371232.4%
202112401127.5%
20201236719.4%
201912331133.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record VA0650200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Exmore Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 1214
20251246
20241248
20231233
20221235
20211238
20201223
20191250

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record VA0650200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Exmore Police Department for 2007, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20071
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record VA0650200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Exmore Police Department between 2002 and 2002, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
71.17Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2002Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Exmore Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet8
Other weapon3
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980010
19990001
20110010
20120010
20140020
20180001
20190010
20231010
20240011

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Northampton

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record VA0650200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.