Home / States / Texas / Young County Sheriff's Office
Young County Sheriff's Office
County agency in Young, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.
- ORI
- TX2520000
- Type
- County
- County
- Young
- State
- Texas (TX)
- FBI reporting
- Reporting since 2019-02-01
- Location
- 33.1588, -98.6783
Workforce
As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 6,327.
| Year | Officers | Civilians | Population served | Per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 30 | 7 | 6,327 | 5.85 |
| 2024 | 29 | 7 | 6,540 | 5.50 |
| 2023 | 12 | 24 | 6,282 | 5.73 |
| 2022 | 12 | 20 | 6,369 | 5.02 |
| 2020 | 10 | 26 | 6,220 | 5.79 |
| 2019 | 12 | 22 | 6,112 | 5.56 |
| 2018 | 26 | 7 | 6,119 | 5.39 |
| 2016 | 11 | 25 | 6,146 | 5.86 |
| 2015 | 11 | 26 | 6,284 | 5.89 |
| 2014 | 15 | 25 | 6,386 | 6.26 |
| 2013 | 11 | 24 | 6,352 | 5.51 |
| 2012 | 16 | 20 | 6,434 | 5.60 |
Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.
Crime and clearances
Offences and clearances filed by Young County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.
| Year | Months filed | Offences | Cleared | Cleared as % of offences |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 8 of 12 | 3 | 3 | 100.0% |
| 2025 | 12 | 1 | 1 | 100.0% |
| 2024 | 12 | 4 | 4 | 100.0% |
| 2023 | 12 | 4 | 3 | 75.0% |
| 2022 | 12 | 9 | 5 | 55.6% |
| 2021 | 12 | 16 | 9 | 56.3% |
| 2020 | 11 of 12 | 8 | 7 | 87.5% |
| 2019 | 12 | 11 | 8 | 72.7% |
| Year | Months filed | Offences | Cleared | Cleared as % of offences |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 8 of 12 | 0 | 0 | — |
| 2025 | 12 | 0 | 0 | — |
| 2024 | 12 | 0 | 0 | — |
| 2023 | 12 | 8 | 1 | 12.5% |
| 2022 | 12 | 20 | 5 | 25.0% |
| 2021 | 12 | 21 | 3 | 14.3% |
| 2020 | 11 of 12 | 23 | 2 | 8.7% |
| 2019 | 12 | 35 | 7 | 20.0% |
Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.
“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.
Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX2520000.
Arrests
Arrests made by Young County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.
| Year | Months filed | Arrests |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 8 of 12 | 115 |
| 2025 | 12 | 158 |
| 2024 | 12 | 134 |
| 2023 | 12 | 173 |
| 2022 | 12 | 223 |
| 2021 | 12 | 179 |
| 2020 | 11 of 12 | 152 |
| 2019 | 12 | 244 |
“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX2520000.
Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file
1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Young County Sheriff's Office for 2015, as at 14 August 2026.
| Year | Incidents appearing in the file |
|---|---|
| 2015 | 1 |
| Bias motivation | Incidents |
|---|---|
| Anti-Black or African American | 1 |
Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.
The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX2520000.
Deaths during encounters with this agency
1 person has died during an encounter with Young County Sheriff's Office between 2021 and 2021, according to the two datasets named below.
| Recorded cause | Deaths |
|---|---|
| Gunshot | 1 |
What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.
Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).
Military surplus received
Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.
| Item | Quantity | Acquisition value | Most recent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mine Resistant Vehicle | 1 | $412,000 | 2014-08-13 |
| Rifle,5.56 Millimeter | 5 | $2,116 | 2010-07-14 |
| Sight,Reflex | 5 | $1,695 | 2014-09-11 |
| Binocular | 1 | $278 | 2013-09-26 |
| Rifle,7.62 Millimeter | 2 | $276 | 2003-06-25 |
| Shotgun,12 Gage,Riot Type | 3 | $216 | 2008-09-04 |
Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.
Texas racial-profiling report filings
The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Young County Sheriff's Office. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.
| Reporting year | Filing status (TCOLE’s word) | Submitted | Total stops, as filed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Full | 2026-02-10 | 948 |
| 2024 | Full | 2025-01-31 | 994 |
TCOLE lists this department as “YOUNG CO. SHERIFF'S OFFICE”.
The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.
Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.
Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.
Also policing Young
Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.
Source
Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX2520000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.
Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.