PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Motley County Sheriff's Office

Motley County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Motley, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
TX1730000
Type
County
County
Motley
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
34.0579, -100.7932

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 999.

2Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
2.00Employees per 1,000 people
999Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025209992.00
2024301,0182.95
2023201,0191.96
2022201,0881.84
2021101,1710.85
2020101,1960.84
2019201,2301.63
2016201,1331.77
2015401,1423.50
2014401,2023.33
2013401,2053.32
2012201,2481.60

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Motley County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1200—
202512200.0%
202412200.0%
202312100.0%
202212600.0%
20211200—
20202 of 1200—
20194 of 12100.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1200—
2025121200.0%
202412200.0%
20231227414.8%
2022121000.0%
202112500.0%
20202 of 12100.0%
20194 of 123133.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX1730000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Motley County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 120
2025120
2024Annual total only1 †
2023Annual total only4 †
2022120
2021120
20202 of 120
20194 of 125

† Annual total only. For 2023, 2024, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX1730000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Motley County Sheriff's Office in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX1730000.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$735Original acquisition value
7Line items received
2000–2011Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter4$4802011-05-24
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter1$1382000-05-22
Pistol,Caliber .45,Automatic2$1172011-10-25

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Motley County Sheriff's Office. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-01-06145
2024Full2025-02-21208

TCOLE lists this department as “MOTLEY CO. SHERIFF'S OFFICE”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX1730000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.