PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Fort Worth Police Department

Fort Worth Police Department

City agency in Denton, Parker, Tarrant, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2005.

ORI
TX2201200
Type
City
County
Denton, Parker, Tarrant
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2005-10-01
Location
32.772, -97.2913

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,030,410.

1,768Sworn officers
367Civilian staff
2.07Employees per 1,000 people
1,030,410Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,7683671,030,4102.07
20241,670510997,4762.19
20231,663485973,7222.21
20221,672433948,6052.22
20211,631457947,8622.20
20201,667418929,5092.24
20191,650425915,2372.27
20181,694438893,7562.39
20171,681517873,0692.52
20161,566441851,8492.36
20151,557443829,7312.41
20121,536404770,1012.52

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Fort Worth Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,1671,16853.9%
2025123,8591,91949.7%
2024124,6402,05144.2%
2023124,8491,93539.9%
2022124,8751,83937.7%
2021125,4282,01437.1%
2020125,2781,88935.8%
2019124,1871,62638.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1212,7862,07916.3%
20251222,8863,08213.5%
20241227,2882,97710.9%
20231226,0972,76710.6%
20221226,2742,77210.6%
20211225,1832,80811.2%
20201226,1952,75610.5%
20191224,8463,14412.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX2201200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Fort Worth Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1212,346
20251216,679
20241215,692
20231215,498
20221213,443
20211214,270
20201213,235
20191216,956

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX2201200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Fort Worth Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202511
20241
202314
20223
202111
202014
201914
201825
201713
201620
201520
201414
201316
201214
201116
201014
20096
200812
200719
200610
20056
200411
20037
200213
200126
200021
199919
199815
199729
199640
199536
199435
199360
199250
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American258
Anti-White80
Anti-Gay (Male)66
Anti-Hispanic or Latino61
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)31
Anti-Jewish25
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)17
Anti-Multiple Races, Group17
Anti-Asian15
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry13
Anti-Lesbian (Female)12
Anti-Arab9
Anti-Other Religion9
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native3
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-Bisexual2
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Protestant2

6 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX2201200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

101 people have died during an encounter with Fort Worth Police Department between 2004 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

101Deaths recorded
9.80Per 100,000 people policed
2004–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot72
Vehicle9
Tasered7
Drug overdose3
Fell from a height2
Medical emergency2
Stabbed2
Physical Restraint1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (54) and Mapping Police Violence (47). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Fort Worth Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm211
Knife or other cutting instrument115
Hands, fists or feet3,777
Other weapon778
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995933417
1996324117
199731439
1998513613
1999465324
2000175214
2001446010
2002235314
200324595
2004665212
2005526710
200622623
200712775
200810657
2009426611
2010225413
201131618
201210387
2013305010
2014224615
2015514617
2016814919
2017121732038
201811437069
201961125449
20207116224
202114016821
202215727037
202323832782
202423836397
2025247379101

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$26,746Original acquisition value
20Line items received
2018–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Illuminator,Infrared12$21,7992021-07-21
Sight,Reflex7$3,8742018-07-12
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms16$1,0732021-12-29

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Fort Worth Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-01-2154,577
2024Full2025-02-0344,326

TCOLE lists this department as “FORT WORTH POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX2201200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.