PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Flower Mound Police Department

Flower Mound Police Department

City agency in Denton, Tarrant, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2002.

ORI
TX0611200
Type
City
County
Denton, Tarrant
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2002-04-01
Location
33.0411, -97.0445

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 80,891.

106Sworn officers
52Civilian staff
1.95Employees per 1,000 people
80,891Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251065280,8911.95
20241054680,4551.88
2023954979,5131.81
2022984478,1671.82
20211044083,3671.73
2020964980,9071.79
2019894579,0521.70
2018943878,5421.68
20170075,1010.00
2016814072,6001.67
2015824170,8941.73
2014853669,5721.74

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Flower Mound Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12292069.0%
202512342367.6%
202412482960.4%
202312613455.7%
202212382052.6%
202112601525.0%
20201248918.8%
201912491122.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122683211.9%
2025124626914.9%
2024124755812.2%
2023125425810.7%
202212609254.1%
202112487306.2%
202012553203.6%
201912734354.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX0611200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Flower Mound Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12633
202512970
202412809
202312824
202212785
202112686
202012348
201912613

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX0611200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Flower Mound Police Department for 2017, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20173
20081
20051
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2005–2017
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American3
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Jewish1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX0611200.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Flower Mound Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1997 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm2
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet40
Other weapon3
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19970010
19980011
19990020
20010032
20060010
20070020
20080020
20090030
20100020
20110010
20120040
20140010
20150020
20160010
20170100
20180010
20212020
20220020
20230030
20240040
20250020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$27,400Original acquisition value
8Line items received
2015–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Night Vision Goggle6$21,4682021-07-23
Test Kit,Mask,Protective1$5,5932015-05-28
Sight,Reflex1$3392015-06-30

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Flower Mound Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-01-1329,785
2024Full2025-01-2820,065

TCOLE lists this department as “FLOWER MOUND POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Denton, Tarrant

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX0611200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.