PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Brownsville Police Department

Brownsville Police Department

City agency in Cameron, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2018.

ORI
TX0310100
Type
City
County
Cameron
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2018-03-01
Location
25.9087, -97.4982

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 193,321.

208Sworn officers
75Civilian staff
1.46Employees per 1,000 people
193,321Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202520875193,3211.46
202421775191,2211.53
202321871190,5901.52
202222074188,9061.56
202122675184,2871.63
202022587183,6271.70
201923483184,4181.72
2018197102184,4611.62
2016244110185,5831.91
2014245100183,4331.88
2013244105181,5901.92
201224284181,1021.80

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Brownsville Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1242914132.9%
20251278229537.7%
20241287628732.8%
20231276521528.1%
20221283029936.0%
20211273527637.6%
20201274125534.4%
20191278728936.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,67042925.7%
2025122,95462121.0%
2024123,74569718.6%
2023123,94155314.0%
2022123,52961617.5%
2021123,38051115.1%
2020123,42261518.0%
2019124,58690719.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX0310100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Brownsville Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 122,233
2025123,218
2024123,218
2023123,316
2022123,445
2021123,319
2020123,732
2019124,744

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX0310100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Brownsville Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20232
20221
20181
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2018–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Sikh1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX0310100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

16 people have died during an encounter with Brownsville Police Department between 2006 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

16Deaths recorded
8.28Per 100,000 people policed
2006–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot11
Vehicle4
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (9) and Fatal Encounters (7). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Brownsville Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm29
Knife or other cutting instrument27
Hands, fists or feet762
Other weapon157
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510207
199642252
199711212
199800204
199900181
200001127
200101135
200211172
200300112
200410105
200510110
200620102
200710143
200812187
200900223
201000149
201101265
2012102711
201311285
201401233
201510106
201600221
201711192
20181284
20194188
202000305
2021223411
202200469
2023078617
202403623
202550776

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$738,015Original acquisition value
3Line items received
2014–2016Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-03-06
Installation And Equipment Kit,Vehicle1$4,4472016-04-28
Cover,Turret Base1$5682014-10-09

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Brownsville Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-02-1315,404
2024Full2025-01-3015,668

TCOLE lists this department as “BROWNSVILLE POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Cameron

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX0310100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.