PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Bellmead Police Department

Bellmead Police Department

City agency in Mclennan, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2017.

ORI
TX1550100
Type
City
County
Mclennan
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2017-02-01
Location
31.5896, -97.1008

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 10,632.

24Sworn officers
9Civilian staff
3.10Employees per 1,000 people
10,632Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202524910,6323.10
202422910,6572.91
202320710,6152.54
2022221010,5893.02
202120810,9272.56
2020181010,8352.58
201920910,8172.68
2016201110,2123.04
2015221110,2493.22
2014221110,0773.27
20131879,9502.51
201218610,2122.35

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Bellmead Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12252184.0%
202512372875.7%
202412483879.2%
202312312374.2%
202212412970.7%
202112514078.4%
202012975354.6%
201912995252.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121569963.5%
20251229722274.7%
20241234320258.9%
20231231219060.9%
20221229814448.3%
20211232712437.9%
20201248912926.4%
20191262928845.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX1550100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Bellmead Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12392
202512713
202412680
202312596
202212557
202112437
202012607
201912739

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX1550100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Bellmead Police Department for 2022, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20222
20201
20181
20171
20132
20091
20031
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2022
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American6
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX1550100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Bellmead Police Department between 2006 and 2014, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
18.81Per 100,000 people policed
2006–2014Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (1) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Bellmead Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2020. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm4
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet47
Other weapon12
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950030
19960030
19970012
19990031
20000121
20010010
20021020
20030012
20041031
20050031
20060020
20071001
20080020
20090040
20100010
20110020
20120020
20130001
20140130
20150020
20170020
20180010
20191021
20200021

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Bellmead Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-01-294,090
2024Full2025-02-054,342

TCOLE lists this department as “BELLMEAD POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Mclennan

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX1550100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.