PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Austin Police Department

Austin Police Department

City agency in Hays, Travis, Williamson, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
TX2270100
Type
City
County
Hays, Travis, Williamson
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-01-01
Location
30.268, -97.7353

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 1,000,639.

1,487Sworn officers
711Civilian staff
2.20Employees per 1,000 people
1,000,639Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,4877111,000,6392.20
20241,507652984,6132.19
20231,488630978,8162.16
20221,527651965,2342.26
20211,6134741,016,7212.05
20201,7385521,000,2762.29
20191,802667986,0622.50
20181,851571973,3442.49
20171,808558971,9492.43
20161,807554956,9112.47
20151,750540938,7282.44
20141,709597903,9242.55

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Austin Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 122,6531,59860.2%
2025124,2212,33855.4%
2024124,6882,33349.8%
2023125,0472,46148.8%
2022125,3342,31443.4%
2021125,1442,08440.5%
2020124,9191,77536.1%
2019124,3411,61737.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1217,6892,16912.3%
20251231,0113,17310.2%
20241232,4032,4977.7%
20231232,8982,2666.9%
20221235,0362,0755.9%
20211234,4161,9965.8%
20201236,6212,4276.6%
20191236,8973,2438.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX2270100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Austin Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 1216,693
20251223,348
20241220,460
20231218,754
20221217,478
20211216,712
20201218,872
20191225,027

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX2270100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

52 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Austin Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202552
202457
202351
202247
202129
202024
201910
201819
201718
201619
201513
20144
20134
20126
20115
20105
200911
200819
20076
200613
200520
20045
20037
200215
200126
200027
199920
199828
199755
199643
199538
199423
199328
199241
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American191
Anti-Gay (Male)146
Anti-Jewish71
Anti-Hispanic or Latino69
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)69
Anti-White63
Anti-Lesbian (Female)32
Anti-Asian28
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)22
Anti-Arab17
Anti-Transgender16
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry13
Anti-Multiple Races, Group11
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-Physical Disability4
Anti-Protestant4
Anti-Mental Disability3
Anti-Bisexual2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Buddhist1
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Jehovah's Witness1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Christian1

15 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX2270100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

106 people have died during an encounter with Austin Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

106Deaths recorded
10.59Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot80
Vehicle7
Tasered4
Gunshot, Taser4
Drug overdose3
Medical emergency2
Fell from a height2
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (59) and Fatal Encounters (47). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Austin Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm126
Knife or other cutting instrument95
Hands, fists or feet2,883
Other weapon468
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950143
1996235821
1997436517
1998135619
1999046015
2000244721
2001035216
2002124915
2003323612
2004323611
200501474
2006235019
200732437
200814397
2009305514
201014387
2011203910
201212458
201322565
201423507
201501392
201630466
201711515
201831448
20192421617
202010018032
202191032447
202251916312
202319424742
202413726537
202528038322

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$3.6mOriginal acquisition value
703Line items received
1999–2018Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Eod Robot6$1.1m2016-09-14
Helicopter,Flight Trainer1$833,4002015-06-11
Image Intensifier,Night Vision92$537,4212015-09-01
Sight,Thermal25$400,2782016-07-05
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle4$308,0002017-06-27
Sight,Reflex374$128,0202016-05-26
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms107$104,2542017-01-19
Recon Scout Xt8$92,4512017-10-11
Binocular,Night Vision3$30,8872010-09-27
Test Set,Night Vision Viewer2$27,8052012-12-06
Scope,Night-Pocket5$20,5352015-09-29
Firing Device,Demolition1$18,0002017-04-07
Illuminator,Infrared6$10,8002015-05-18
Test Set,Electronic Systems1$10,4242010-10-09
Sight,Holographic9$5,4752011-08-19
Mount Assembly,Obje16$3,4162010-04-05
Tool Kit,Night Visi1$3,3402015-04-21
Telescope,Straight3$2,5222016-03-21
Spotting Instrument,Optical8$2,4562017-03-02
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter13$1,7942000-09-08
Blasting Machine1$1,6412015-12-21
Device,Purge1$1,1162009-10-25
Image Converter,Night Vision20$1,0862013-06-06
Rear Cover Assembly6$9872010-04-05
Power Supply Assembly47$7532011-08-02

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Austin Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-02-2744,337
2024Full2025-02-2136,818

TCOLE lists this department as “AUSTIN POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX2270100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.