PoliceCensus

Home / States / Texas / Angleton Police Department

Angleton Police Department

City agency in Brazoria, Texas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
TX0200200
Type
City
County
Brazoria
State
Texas (TX)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-12-01
Location
29.1826, -95.4327

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 21,386.

41Sworn officers
2Civilian staff
2.01Employees per 1,000 people
21,386Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202541221,3862.01
202434220,4741.76
202340819,7032.44
2022321719,3692.53
2021341719,5932.60
2020351619,5002.62
2019362419,6603.05
2018391419,6502.70
2016361219,5462.46
2015361219,6292.45
2014361219,0202.52
2013361219,0162.52

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Angleton Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12401127.5%
202512551832.7%
202412522140.4%
202312523465.4%
202212532037.7%
202112622743.5%
202012381128.9%
201912503060.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12931617.2%
2025121803016.7%
2024121963618.4%
2023122516124.3%
2022122825920.9%
2021122165324.5%
2020123036421.1%
20191227921476.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TX0200200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Angleton Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12267
202512430
202412452
202312510
202212505
202112509
202012424
201912901

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TX0200200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Angleton Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20192
19951
19941
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TX0200200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Angleton Police Department between 2001 and 2011, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
9.35Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2011Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1
Medical emergency1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Angleton Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet218
Other weapon5
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950040
19960040
19970030
19980020
19990010
20001050
20010080
20022061
20030030
20040062
20050080
200601111
20070050
200800150
200900120
201000161
201100160
201200150
201300140
201401130
20150060
20160050
20170010
20180020
20190060
20200080
20210020
20220040
202300120
20240050

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Texas racial-profiling report filings

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) lists a racial-profiling report submitted for Angleton Police Department. The filing status is TCOLE’s own word. This section shows that a filing was made and when; it does not show what the report says.

Reporting yearFiling status (TCOLE’s word)SubmittedTotal stops, as filed
2025Full2026-02-029,080
2024Full2025-01-158,572

TCOLE lists this department as “ANGLETON POLICE DEPT.”.

The stop count is a raw number as filed. It is not a rate, and Police Census does not compare it with a population or with other departments. A dash means TCOLE’s file carries no usable count for that row. The register is matched to TCOLE’s list by name, and only where exactly one agency fits.

Re-use terms not verified. TCOLE publishes no licence, no public-domain dedication and no re-use statement for this data; its site carries only a copyright notice (“Copyright © 2023 Texas Commission on Law Enforcement”). Police Census has not verified the terms on which it may be re-used, and shows it on that footing.

Source: Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, racial profiling reports, read on 2026-10-12.

Also policing Brazoria

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TX0200200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.