PoliceCensus

Home / States / Tennessee / Knoxville Police Department

Knoxville Police Department

City agency in Knox, Tennessee, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
TN0470100
Type
City
County
Knox
State
Tennessee (TN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-03-01
Location
35.9927, -83.9377

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 200,645.

369Sworn officers
100Civilian staff
2.34Employees per 1,000 people
200,645Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025369100200,6452.34
2024346147200,4572.46
2023355102198,1322.31
202238098194,7242.45
2021382110191,4632.57
2020371124188,6722.62
2019370120188,6662.60
2018387115188,6532.66
201739690187,5392.59
201637788186,5832.49
201539794185,6382.64
201441097184,3622.75

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Knoxville Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1284741649.1%
2025121,37467048.8%
2024121,48974750.2%
2023121,62370543.4%
2022121,64674845.4%
2021121,60068342.7%
2020121,53969345.0%
2019121,25064651.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 122,67989633.4%
2025124,7371,28727.2%
2024125,4801,55128.3%
2023126,2181,40522.6%
2022127,6271,83824.1%
2021127,7261,85324.0%
2020128,0282,29128.5%
2019128,2372,68932.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TN0470100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Knoxville Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 126,716
2025128,484
2024127,589
2023126,882
2022127,544
2021128,217
2020127,337
2019129,408

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TN0470100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Knoxville Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20248
20237
20222
20215
20205
20198
201810
20175
20161
20153
20149
20132
201225
20113
20094
200810
200710
20069
20054
200411
20034
200213
200111
20003
19995
19965
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American57
Anti-White29
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)18
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry14
Anti-Hispanic or Latino12
Anti-Jewish12
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)7
Anti-Arab5
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Mental Disability4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Transgender1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TN0470100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

42 people have died during an encounter with Knoxville Police Department between 2001 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

42Deaths recorded
20.93Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot33
Vehicle5
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Fell from a height1
Stabbed1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (29) and Mapping Police Violence (13). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Knoxville Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm97
Knife or other cutting instrument98
Hands, fists or feet1,566
Other weapon504
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199512215
19962184
199762222
199800205
199901115
200010124
20012193
2002101312
200321249
2004122511
200511325
200612298
200722406
200831359
2009003614
201043335
201140308
201231288
201332129
2014401610
201510176
201612264
201706429
2018757239
2019803922
202073309
202121113847
20227012827
2023131116537
202431221878
202572623584

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.1mOriginal acquisition value
41Line items received
1995–2025Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$767,3602019-10-16
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle3$231,0002025-07-24
Truck,Utility1$60,4092013-10-21
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter34$4,6922001-10-15
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter2$9982002-11-21

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Knox

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TN0470100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.