PoliceCensus

Home / States / Tennessee / Gallatin Police Department

Gallatin Police Department

City agency in Sumner, Tennessee, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1999.

ORI
TN0830100
Type
City
County
Sumner
State
Tennessee (TN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1999-01-01
Location
36.4734, -86.4598

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 54,602.

100Sworn officers
12Civilian staff
2.05Employees per 1,000 people
54,602Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251001254,6022.05
20241011252,3462.16
2023861349,9791.98
2022841249,2201.95
2021791346,0312.00
2020861144,5842.18
2019841441,9182.34
2018801338,4502.42
2017791136,6892.45
2016712135,1542.62
2015722234,0802.76
2014702232,7562.81

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Gallatin Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12908291.1%
202512987172.4%
2024121158674.8%
202312979496.9%
2022121259777.6%
20211213613095.6%
20201214811376.4%
20191212011696.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121837440.4%
2025122419439.0%
20241239719549.1%
20231250727454.0%
20221233714242.1%
20211232115448.0%
20201244824855.4%
20191246731467.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TN0830100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Gallatin Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,198
2025121,831
2024121,879
2023121,993
2022122,151
2021122,095
2020122,027
2019122,528

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TN0830100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Gallatin Police Department for 2014, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20141
20111
20101
20071
20061
20051
20032
19982
19962
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2014
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American5
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-White2
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TN0830100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Gallatin Police Department between 2009 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
9.16Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Gallatin Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm8
Knife or other cutting instrument8
Hands, fists or feet262
Other weapon40
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950020
19960021
19970040
19980056
19990032
20000163
20011009
20020011
20030090
20040080
20050091
20060082
20070092
200800111
20090061
20101071
20111090
20120171
201300100
20140070
20150050
20160170
201701260
201800150
201901111
20200181
20212064
202200142
202310200
202410121
202512150

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$661,840Original acquisition value
16Line items received
1999–2013Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$658,0002013-08-14
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter6$2,9942002-11-26
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter4$5521999-04-07
Pistol,Caliber .45,Automatic5$2941999-04-05

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Sumner

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TN0830100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.