PoliceCensus

Home / States / Tennessee / Department of Safety

Department of Safety

State Police agency in Tennessee, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
TNTHP0100
Type
State Police
County
Not stated
State
Tennessee (TN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-10-01
Location
36.1359, -86.7412

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

1,359Sworn officers
923Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,3599230—
20241,2798410—
20231,0148400—
20229267990—
20218637940—
20208668460—
20198728030—
20188698470—
20178978150—
20168255010—
20158248480—
20148218800—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Department of Safety in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1219217691.7%
20251230526486.6%
20241219416886.6%
2023121089789.8%
20221212811489.1%
20211213411082.1%
2020121258366.4%
20191212510080.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121089991.7%
20251216514688.5%
2024121059085.7%
202312806783.8%
202212988384.7%
2021121079286.0%
20201212811388.3%
20191212911186.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TNTHP0100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Department of Safety, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 125,987
2025129,361
2024129,548
2023127,300
2022127,142
2021126,744
2020126,558
2019127,851

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TNTHP0100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Department of Safety for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
20243
20235
20221
202112
201932
201812
20179
201611
201513
20141
20131
20121
20092
20011
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2001–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White63
Anti-Black or African American24
Anti-Hispanic or Latino5
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Male2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Sikh1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TNTHP0100.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Department of Safety assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1997 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm92
Knife or other cutting instrument18
Hands, fists or feet728
Other weapon238
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19970002
19980002
20000001
20010002
20020023
20030078
20040156
20050034
200610610
20070001
20080020
20092036
20100131
20110033
20121026
20130035
20140079
20151092
20161092
20171404126
201827688
201942516
2020013810
2021405210
202260307
202350386
2024007146
202551627546

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TNTHP0100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.