PoliceCensus

Home / States / Tennessee / Chattanooga Police Department

Chattanooga Police Department

City agency in Hamilton, Tennessee, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2000.

ORI
TN0330100
Type
City
County
Hamilton
State
Tennessee (TN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2000-03-01
Location
35.1592, -85.2023

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 193,881.

397Sworn officers
157Civilian staff
2.86Employees per 1,000 people
193,881Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025397157193,8812.86
2024439106188,8942.89
2023453105185,3703.01
2022463104182,6033.11
202142074186,2222.65
2020470103184,2113.11
201946994181,8483.10
2018490111180,3973.33
201748375178,7533.12
201643489177,8012.94
2015433106174,9693.08
2014463102174,4493.24

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Chattanooga Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1295932233.6%
2025121,31832524.7%
2024121,55833821.7%
2023121,95643522.2%
2022121,98645422.9%
2021122,37470029.5%
2020122,42278832.5%
2019121,91772337.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 124,07443010.6%
2025126,43464710.1%
2024127,49677210.3%
2023128,92089910.1%
2022129,45997710.3%
20211210,8351,38112.7%
20201211,6981,56213.4%
20191210,0831,47714.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record TN0330100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Chattanooga Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 122,835
2025123,591
2024123,991
2023124,772
2022124,324
2021126,632
2020127,467
2019128,088

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record TN0330100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Chattanooga Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20243
20233
20221
20211
201810
20174
20163
201516
201411
20133
201220
20113
20105
20092
200810
20075
20063
20053
20041
20032
20011
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2001–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American31
Anti-White17
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Mental Disability9
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native6
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)6
Anti-Jewish6
Anti-Gay (Male)5
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism2
Anti-Other Christian2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record TN0330100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

38 people have died during an encounter with Chattanooga Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

38Deaths recorded
19.60Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot30
Vehicle5
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument2
Medical emergency1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (23) and Mapping Police Violence (15). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Chattanooga Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1996 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm97
Knife or other cutting instrument76
Hands, fists or feet742
Other weapon371
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199664527
200014228
200110176
2002213717
2003012511
2004612413
2005033419
2006034015
2007153512
2008003811
2009433610
201021317
201140387
201281329
201331249
201441209
201521178
201613189
2017815238
20181122532
2019761324
2020121220
20212073429
2022321413
2023681813
2024101213
202555222

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$70,407Original acquisition value
2Line items received
2019–2019Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Firing Device Set,Demolition1$43,2602019-05-21
Firing Device,Demolition3$27,1472019-05-17

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Hamilton

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record TN0330100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.