PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Dakota / Spink County Sheriff's Office

Spink County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Spink, South Dakota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1999.

ORI
SD0570000
Type
County
County
Spink
State
South Dakota (SD)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1999-01-01
Location
44.8757, -98.5149

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 6,056.

10Sworn officers
4Civilian staff
2.31Employees per 1,000 people
6,056Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251046,0562.31
20241066,0722.64
2023856,1672.11
2022746,2421.76
2021946,2692.07
2020956,3702.20
2019956,4572.17
2018756,4411.86
2017956,3892.19
2016856,5331.99
2015756,6121.81
2014856,6681.95

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Spink County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 1222100.0%
202510 of 127457.1%
2024129444.4%
2023128337.5%
20221244100.0%
20211215533.3%
202012211361.9%
20191214535.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 124125.0%
202510 of 123266.7%
2024121119.1%
20231217952.9%
20221222940.9%
20211229517.2%
20201250918.0%
201912841011.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SD0570000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Spink County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 1241
202510 of 1233
20241289
202312103
202212161
202112138
202012170
201912183

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SD0570000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Spink County Sheriff's Office for 2001, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20011
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2001
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SD0570000.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$4,112Original acquisition value
9Line items received
1996–2011Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter9$4,1122011-10-18

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SD0570000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.