PoliceCensus

Home / States / South Dakota / Pennington County Sheriff's Office

Pennington County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Pennington, South Dakota, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2006.

ORI
SD0510000
Type
County
County
Pennington
State
South Dakota (SD)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2006-01-01
Location
44.0781, -103.2221

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 27,355.

217Sworn officers
229Civilian staff
16.30Employees per 1,000 people
27,355Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202521722927,35516.30
202421722927,08116.47
202312126527,70013.94
202210126928,76112.86
202110133029,43414.64
20209933229,70814.51
201910132029,19114.42
20189830830,23213.43
20179728228,85313.14
20169429029,02713.23
20158628629,29212.70
20147629729,34712.71

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Pennington County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12501530.0%
2025121335339.8%
2024121436646.2%
2023121165144.0%
2022121146960.5%
2021121495738.3%
2020121777039.5%
2019121224335.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121381813.0%
2025122085124.5%
2024122423012.4%
2023123285115.5%
2022123165818.4%
202112383359.1%
2020124444810.8%
2019123537521.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record SD0510000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Pennington County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,900
2025123,608
2024124,145
2023124,969
2022124,611
2021125,713
2020124,445
2019126,531

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record SD0510000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Pennington County Sheriff's Office for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20221
20192
20171
20141
20111
20071
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-White2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record SD0510000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

7 people have died during an encounter with Pennington County Sheriff's Office between 2010 and 2021, according to the two datasets named below.

7Deaths recorded
25.59Per 100,000 people policed
2010–2021Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot6
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (4) and Fatal Encounters (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$682,830Original acquisition value
69Line items received
1993–2018Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$658,0002018-05-21
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter53$18,3352017-09-18
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter10$4,8001996-08-14
Sight,Reflex87$1,6952017-06-01

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Pennington

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record SD0510000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.